Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-01-2023, 05:25 AM   #1
philcobill

Default Enamel and lacquer paint

I have a couple of questions about paint. I am not a paint expert but my late father who previously owned my Model A was. He was a professional auto body repair man. So I learned a little bit from him.

It is my understanding that the chassis and fenders splash aprons etc were originally painted with black enamel. When my father did a complete restoration in the 1970's I remember he sandblasted most of the metal in the car and re-painted it. My job was to paint the frame with black enamel using a paint brush, I imagine current paint on the frame could be the very paint I applied. I believe my dad used primer and lacquer on the fenders etc as well as the body of the car.

My question is, is it not unusual for the fender etc, the non-body parts of the car to be painted with lacquer? Since I am not a paint expert how do I tell what my father did?
philcobill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2023, 07:10 AM   #2
BRENT in 10-uh-C

Default Re: Enamel and lacquer paint

Quote:
Originally Posted by philcobill View Post
I have a couple of questions about paint. I am not a paint expert but my late father who previously owned my Model A was. He was a professional auto body repair man. So I learned a little bit from him.

It is my understanding that the chassis and fenders splash aprons etc were originally painted with black enamel. When my father did a complete restoration in the 1970's I remember he sandblasted most of the metal in the car and re-painted it. My job was to paint the frame with black enamel using a paint brush, I imagine current paint on the frame could be the very paint I applied. I believe my dad used primer and lacquer on the fenders etc as well as the body of the car.