Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-02-2013, 01:05 PM   #1
galaxyjb

Default Compression issue, valves, and guides

I will start off by saying I'm a newbie to A's and engine work in general.

With that said I did a compression check on the A this spring, cylinder 1,3,4 had 90 psi, 2 had 60psi (adding oil brought it up to 64 psi). The I did a vacuume test and at idle the gauge would show about 20 but would bounce quickly and rapidly down 3 or 4.

I figured this was a valve issue with number 2.

Pulled the head, it looks like a brumfield head (or at least hicomp, not stock) and the previous owner said the pistons were 90 over. The number 2 exhaust seat looks pitted (will post photo). I pulled the valve cover and removed the spring and retainer for the valve, it had a lot of play in the guide as well.

So being new to this can I change the guide and valve (I have spare new ones), lap the valve in like crazy and do you think this will get my compression up? Or what should I do?

I also know number 4 plug likes to get a little oily so I figure there is something going on there as well with the guides or something.

So should can I try to change the valve and guide for #2 in hopes getting compression up and not having the valve wiggle around so much or just lap in what's is there and run the motor till it won't go anymore?

Thanks,
jb

Here is the photo I promised of the valve seat on cylinder #2 in question

http://s24.postimg.org/65jt4ri11/IMG_3681_1.jpg

Last edited by galaxyjb; 05-02-2013 at 01:40 PM.
galaxyjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 01:18 PM   #2
PC/SR

Default Re: Compression issue, valves, and guides

Do you have adjustable lifters and have you checked the clearance? What you propose is a "shade tree" fix, but they worked back in the day. In fact an interesting thread might be shade tree fixes folks have done/seen. But lets not hijack this one.