Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-05-2013, 08:40 PM   #1
matt92vr4

Default What is this and why did it stop working? (Electrical Problem)

Hello, I'd like to thank you in advance for taking the time to read this thread.

Summary: My dad bought a Model A about a month ago. It didn't run and the electrical was a complete mess. The good news for today is that we got everything running and made her maiden voyage of this century! Left the garage and returned under her own power!

Prior to the voyage, we re-wired everything and it was all working perfect. Somewhere within our 1/4 mile trip around the block the lights and horn all stopped working. Using my multimeter I isolated the problem down to the "black box". It is a black box mounted on the firewall. I'm new to old cars but the best I can tell it is the antique version of a circuit breaker. Please see the pics below and let me know what you think.

It has two posts on it. One labeled "IGN" and the other "FLD". The "IGN" is receiving 12v from the coil. The "FLD" is supplying 12v to the switch on the steering column. Prior to our trip it was reading 12v in and 12v out. After the trip it now reads 12v in and about 3.8v out. The backside has two "ceramic spring" contraptions in a V shape.

For kicks and giggles I bypassed this box for a couple seconds and all of the lights and horn worked properly.

I'm hoping I can replace this with a modern circuit breaker that can handle the load? Please let me know. I really appreciate your help. Thanks, Matt
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FM3.jpg (32.2 KB, 225 views)
File Type: jpg FMA4.jpg (46.9 KB, 201 views)
matt92vr4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 08:49 PM   #2
Bob C

Default Re: What is this and why did it stop working? (Electrical Problem)

That looks like an old Chrysler voltage regulator, see the link.
http://www.napaonline.com/Catalog/Ca...R32_0354837625

Bob