Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2015, 07:29 PM   #1
39topless
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,027
Default Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Please don't laugh and point but I'm navigating in uncharted waters here. I am installing, in my '39, a new dual carb system with two 97's on a "super" intake with direct linkage. Will I need to also directly link the two chokes or will choking just one carb get me going at startup? Another question: ( and this will probably sound dumber than the first), with the direct type throttle linkage, does it matter which carb connects to the foot pedal (petal in the UK) linkage?
39topless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 07:33 PM   #2
adileo
Senior Member
 
adileo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,608
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

My setup dual 94s has only one choke - closest carb to firewall has linkage to throttle
adileo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-17-2015, 07:40 PM   #3
paul2748
Senior Member
 
paul2748's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midland Park, NJ
Posts: 2,562
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

On the dual setup I had, I had the choke on only one carb. No problems.
__________________
48 Ford Conv
56 Tbird
54 Ford Victoria
paul2748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 07:41 PM   #4
uncle max
Senior Member
 
uncle max's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 743
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Only one functioning choke is needed, even in the coldest climate.
But, it's important to have both chokeplates in the open position when running. The plates direct the air where it needs to go for proper signal and atomization. You might just pick up 1 or 2 horsepower!
Join the linkage on the driver's side and pull from the passenger side - front or back, whichever has the least severe angle.
__________________
RIP Tyler... My Son, Helper & Best Friend.
Feb '78 to Father's Day '10.
www.97-express.com ~ info@97-express.com
uncle max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 08:00 PM   #5
estout81
Senior Member
 
estout81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Utica, Ohio
Posts: 407
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Here's what I did.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg S6300313.jpg (84.4 KB, 260 views)
estout81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 08:03 PM   #6
zzlegend
Senior Member
 
zzlegend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Reseda, Calif.
Posts: 2,144
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

I am a little different I guess. I hooked both chokes together. They don't have to be closed but just a touch to work. Mine are 94's. Just my 2 cents.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hot rod motor 4.jpg (89.0 KB, 156 views)
zzlegend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 04:38 AM   #7
jrvariel48
Senior Member
 
jrvariel48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 995
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

One choke for me. The front carb is locked open.
jrvariel48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 07:03 AM   #8
chap52
Senior Member
 
chap52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Marana Arizona
Posts: 1,536
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Same as jrvariel48. No problems with cold starts.
chap52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 07:32 AM   #9
Mike51Merc
Senior Member
 
Mike51Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,570
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zzlegend View Post
I am a little different I guess. I hooked both chokes together. They don't have to be closed but just a touch to work. Mine are 94's. Just my 2 cents.
Not so different. I did the same. Had the parts and no reason not to.
Mike51Merc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 07:33 AM   #10
Walt Dupont--Me.
Senior Member
 
Walt Dupont--Me.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gardiner Me.
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Make sure you have the right jets and power valves, check with Uncle Max. Walt
Walt Dupont--Me. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 07:45 AM   #11
Ken/Alabama
Senior Member
 
Ken/Alabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,272
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Been running multiple carbs for years. Never had a choke hooked up , no issues with cold starts.
Ken/Alabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 09:14 AM   #12
Mart
Senior Member
 
Mart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Solihull, England.
Posts: 6,153
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

No choke hooked up here, either, but we don't get/I don't drive in extremely cold weather.

Mart.
Mart is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 09:25 AM   #13
Mike51Merc
Senior Member
 
Mike51Merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,570
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken/Alabama View Post
Been running multiple carbs for years. Never had a choke hooked up , no issues with cold starts.

.......so says the man from Alabama.
Mike51Merc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 09:34 AM   #14
39topless
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt Dupont--Me. View Post
Make sure you have the right jets and power valves, check with Uncle Max. Walt
He got me squared away. To the MAX!
39topless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 02:09 PM   #15
LOWRIDER
Senior Member
 
LOWRIDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kingman Az. 86409
Posts: 368
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike51Merc View Post
.......so says the man from Alabama.
...you beat me to it.
__________________
Dan Kingman Az. 86409
LOWRIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 02:27 PM   #16
NealinCA
Senior Member
 
NealinCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Central Coast, Calif.
Posts: 760
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle max View Post
Join the linkage on the driver's side and pull from the passenger side - front or back, whichever has the least severe angle.
Max - What is your opinion of the "snap back" return springs that Stromberg sells to go on the driver's side arms?



I installed a set, but they seem overly stiff to me. Thoughts?

Neal
NealinCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 01:53 AM   #17
95476
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 238
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 39topless View Post
He got me squared away. To the MAX!
Which power valves and jets did you go with?
I have a fresh 296 inch 59Y with a 400 jr cam and 2 new 97's from Uncle Max.
There is a little hesistation on acceleration with the stock jets, really bad when cold
It takes while to get it to fire when cold as well.
Rear choke only.
Runs better when warmed up.
95476 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 02:54 AM   #18
my4dv8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 849
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

ok to be different , on all the flatheads I have built over the years all had twin carbs and or superchargers with 97s on top all had and have chokes on both carbs , it only takes a brief moment with both chokes closed and they fire right up, choke em too long and they sure sound strangled. Coldest freezing weather and they always start. Just one pump on the gas.
So what’s the logic with one choke?
my4dv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 08:20 AM   #19
toby
Senior Member
 
toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 456
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

For the flathead 6 guys, here's how my chokes are connected.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC03098.jpg (92.3 KB, 50 views)
toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 10:40 AM   #20
Krylon32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,350
Default Re: Do dual carbs both need a choke?

I've had 3 FH powered cars with dual carbs and I never hooked up the chokes. That said I never drove the cars in really cold weather so I never had any problems getting them started.
Krylon32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.