Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-31-2017, 12:17 AM   #1
daveymc29

Default My First Model A (Not too long)

My very first Model A

This story is not in my book.

I was a young firefighter in Oakland. At that time we were called Firemen and we were just that, men that fought fires. Anyway, over the fence from the firehouse I worked in I could see what appeared to be some old car with four doors and no top of any sort. One day I saw movement in that yard and ran out and got the attention of some guy that was taking his trash to his burn barrel. That was before we cared about the ecology and instead of throwing our old papers and such into landfill or the creek we burned them.

The gentleman came to the fence and we discussed the car to the point I knew I had to have it and he knew I would bring him $25.00 come payday. Like all Model A’s for sale, then as now, it had run when they parked it with a new rebuild on the engine and though it had been a fordor sedan it had been made into a rough phaeton by his brother that owned a good hacksaw. What I saw was what I would get.

Come payday we exchanged $25 for a piece of paper that said I could have the car and that all paperwork had been lost. He was a cop and so I trusted that he hadn’t stolen it, so the deal was wrapped up. I would pull it out of there when I could find someone fool enough to help me.

Finding that fool didn’t take long. My oldest brother had a 55 Ford truck and a piece of parachute cord, some type of nylon line that was very strong. He and I went to the house and a few of us and friends of the cop pushed the car out to the street and we tied the two vehicles together, leaving plenty of room between them for emergencies, though we all knew nothing could possible go wrong.