Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2018, 08:11 PM   #61
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,097
Default Re: Getting my 1931 Model A Coupe go start

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruth View Post
Your picture came thru OK. Interesting that they installed head "bolts" instead of the original studs and nuts.
Yes, Definitely NOT the way to go. Bolts use the coarse thread in the block so torquing them to 55 ftlb, won't give the same downward pressure on the head as the finer thread on the top of studs. Unless they are torqued to way more than 55, expect a leaky head gasket.
__________________
I want to live forever.
So far so good.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 09:40 PM   #62
Big hammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 1,821
Default Re: Getting my 1931 Model A Coupe go start

Standard torque for course threaded nuts and bolts is less than fine threads. Which makes me believe that course threads put more pressure on what is being secured. If the bolts holding the where torqued to 55, then it may be over torqued. I’ve wondered why course threaded studs in the block and fine threaded nuts
__________________
Don't force it with a little hammer tap, tap, tap
get a bigger hammer tap done
Big hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-28-2018, 10:29 PM   #63
joshhirst13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Chino
Posts: 32
Default Re: Getting my 1931 Model A Coupe go start

Yes. I got it running. Thats interesting that you guys are talking about the head gasket. I actually noticed some smoke coming out different areas of the head gasket & also seemed like the gasket was bubbling from heat, almost like a gasket wasn't used but instead some kind of tar. I don't know???? I was going to pull the head & install a copper head gasket. Would this be the way to go & also I'm assuming you guys are saying I should replace the bolts with studs & nuts. If that is the case can I replace them with studs & nuts from an 8ba flathead. I just so happen to have a whole flathead motors worth of studs from a flathead I took apart that was bad.
Thanks fellas
Josh
joshhirst13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 10:38 PM   #64
J Franklin
Senior Member
 
J Franklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 3,643
Default Re: Getting my 1931 Model A Coupe go start

Buy new studs and nuts they are cheap insurance. When placing them just run them into the block slightly snug with some blue LockTight on the threads. When the head is off make sure it is good condition and perfectly flat.
J Franklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 08:55 AM   #65
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,804
Default Re: Getting my 1931 Model A Coupe go start

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshhirst13 View Post
Yep. That was it. I was in such a rush to try & start the car after removing the plugs & cleaning them that I forgot to tighten them down. Ughhhhh.
Thanks
Many years ago an old Mexican told me: "Slow down and get finished sooner".
It works.
__________________
Talk slow, think fast.

Last edited by katy; 03-29-2018 at 08:56 AM. Reason: Addition
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.