Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-12-2018, 05:06 AM   #1
draggin49

Default Radiator questions ...

I think my radiator in my 1932 v8 roadster may be on its way out . I daily drive this car so having the cooling system working really well is definitely important.

I am not sure if this is the original radiator that came with the car or a replacement. Does the original ford radiator cap only work with the original radiator from the factory or can that original cap still be used on an aftermarket radiators ??? My car has the original radiator cap in place .

Is there a huge performance gap between the stock radiator that came with the v8s in 1932 in comparison to the current aftermarket radiator options??

This is my first early Ford so I’m new to a lot of this stuff. Is it possible to keep a flathead running cool without using an electric fan??
My 32 is 100% original and I usually run it with the hood off and an electric fan would stick out like a sore thumb .

Is there a big difference in the performance of aftermarket water pumps vs the original factory water pumps from 1932 ??

Just trying to see what my options are to make this car better handle the daily driving it will regularly see . Look forward to your input/suggestions
draggin49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 07:34 AM   #2
JSeery
Member Emeritus

Default Re: Radiator questions ...

Starting with the water pumps, yes, there are high flow water pumps. Skip is the supplier. BrassWorks can supply an original style radiator. They can be custom built and be an exact copy of the originals. Because of the price of material and the labor involved a quality radiator is going to cost more than an aluminum one. IF you have a good radiator shop near by, they might be able to recore your existing radiator. Or if it is in good shape it may just need to be "rodded" out.