Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-30-2023, 07:34 AM   #1
Jay in Mass

Default Another 1954 Ford Question

A friend of mine bought a 54 Ford Victoria from a junk yard. It came with a very rough but repairable nose . He does not have a computer and I'm not good with one. Now he needs to find the frame number. We checked but we do not know where it is. Does someone have a 54 shop manual, or know where he can find the frame number so he can have the police check it and he can proceed with getting a title. One more thing, another one of my friends donated a real nice 1953 hood to him. Thanks Jay
Jay in Mass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2023, 07:48 AM   #2
GLAmes

Default Re: Another 1954 Ford Question

VIN numbers do not seem to be in the same places. My Skyliner has the VIN stamped on the rear crossover bar in front of the bumper, on the top. I haven't tried but you might be able to read it with a mirror. It also has the VIN stamped on the frame on the transmission support. I have a station wagon frame and also a Victoria parts car. Neither has the VIN stamped on the frame crossover and the wagon frame doesn't have one near the transmission. I haven't looked at the Victoria frame near the transmission mount.
Old 05-30-2023, 08:36 AM   #3
ventport

My 56 T-Bird has the frame stamped on the top of the frame directly under the heater blower on the passenger side. I don't know if yours is the same but it's easy to look with just opening the hood.
ventport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2023, 08:53 AM   #4
dmsfrr

Usually on top of the right front frame rail, somewhere between the firewall & bumper depending on the model.
Very often hiding under a layer or two of paint & misc dirt.