Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-30-2010, 06:40 PM   #1
1EarlyA

Default no spark. Checklist?

I am very new to the Model A community and I am hoping to get some info for a friend who is also inexperienced with the old A's.

This friend has a Model A coupe(can't recall the year right off... I think '29 but not sure) that he got last spring at it always started really well. When he got it out of storage this year, he now has no spark. I am unsure exactly what he has checked so far and am hoping that you guys can give us a checklist to go thru in order to correct this situation.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Justin
1EarlyA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 06:57 PM   #2
Tom Wesenberg

Default Re: no spark. Checklist?

Almost 100% if the spark went dead while sitting, your points just need a light sanding, or use a points file to clean them.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 06:59 PM   #3
steve s

could be a lot of things. First, did he check if the battery is dead? (Is there horn or lights?) Every possible thing can fail: I've seen the ignition switch mysteriously die during storage. Best to just bite the bullet and buy a few books--this won't be the last time help is needed. I recommend Les Andrews' books as a good start. They will have a trouble shooting procedure.

Steve
steve s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 07:33 PM   #4
TK in LA