Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-30-2014, 04:27 PM   #1
Barber31

Default Letting State officials drive your A

Sometime this week I will be letting a state inspector drive my A for the purpose of receiving a bonded title. The whole issue with that is very frustrating and ridiculous. On top of that, somebody who more than likely will not know how to operate my sedan , is going to attempt to drive it. More annoying. I'm still learning how to drive it properly and I've had half a year to practice. I'm afraid to see what happens. How do y'all deal with it when you have no choice but to let someone else drive your baby?
Barber31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 04:30 PM   #2
Charlie Stephens

Default Re: Letting State officials drive your A

Just don't turn on the gas. Remind him he is responsible for broken transmission gears if he doesn't know how to drive a car without synchromesh. If he breaks the starter by trying to start without retarding the spark it is on him. Maybe you could convince him to just let you give him a ride.

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 04:32 PM   #3
Barber31

Haha. Denied!! Then I surely won't ever get a title.
Old 04-30-2014, 04:50 PM   #4
mshmodela

Bring a friend to video tape the event...
mshmodela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 04:51 PM   #5
davehc

Barber 31 ,
This may sound like a dumb question , but why do they have to drive the car , and what is a "bonded title " ? What does this mean ? I'm from Michigan , and never heard of this , [ the bonded title part ] . We may have to have a car inspected for some reason , like lost title , ect. , but never heard of one having to be driven by a state inspector . I would try my best to find out if the person knows how to drive it first also , as mentioned . Good luck with it , let us know how it go's .
Dave