Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-27-2012, 11:47 PM   #1
GQ

Default transmission leak

Hi,

Just registered and this is my first post. I'm a complete newbie so I have a lot to learn. I just started driving my 30 coupe and noticed a puddle from a leak under the clutch/transmission area today (just drove it yesterday about 25 minutes). Would appreciate some trouble-shooting advice, and what lubricant is preferred for the transmission. Thanks.
GQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:59 PM   #2
hardtimes

Default Re: transmission leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by GQ View Post
Hi,

Just registered and this is my first post. I'm a complete newbie so I have a lot to learn. I just started driving my 30 coupe and noticed a puddle from a leak under the clutch/transmission area today (just drove it yesterday about 25 minutes). Would appreciate some trouble-shooting advice, and what lubricant is preferred for the transmission. Thanks.
Welcome !
At the bottom of the clutch cover/bellhousing, there is a LARGE cotter pin in a hole. This is to allow oil leaking from the rear main to exit rather than pooling and thusly getting onto the clutch disk/pressure plate. Is that where it's leaking..as that's the 'normal' oil exiting place. If this is so, your rear main seal area may be the leak as opposed to trans.

BTW to more directly answer your Q: 600w is what suppliers sell you to use in trans. I use 170 gear oil for everthing...except engine oil.

Last edited by hardtimes; 02-28-2012 at 12:01 AM. Reason: ...
hardtimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:53 AM   #3
1931 flamingo

Welcome!! Fill out your profile (location,etc). There may be someone closeby??
Paul in CT
1931 flamingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 10:36 AM   #4
pat in Santa Cruz