Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-08-2024, 06:30 PM   #1
Krylon32

Default Donovan 4 Cylinder

Studying the Donovan Aluminum 4 cylinder motor. I'm a rookie and am wondering what do they use for a head? They show both Flathead & Overhead parts. They are priced the same just 2 separate lists. Over the years at the LARS in June I've seen I think H&H? or maybe someone else displaying a variety of over head conversions for the 4 cylinder. There's also Miller High Speed Heads. Since Donovan doesn't show a head I'm curious to know what fits and is available? When I total up their price sheet you gotta be a Griz, not for the faint hear ted.

Last edited by Krylon32; 03-08-2024 at 06:40 PM.
Krylon32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2024, 07:32 PM   #2
Jim Brierley

Default Re: Donovan 4 Cylinder

Donovan makes a flathead but most guys use an OHV head. The Model D (Donovan's name for the banger block) is super strong, and expensive but worth it if you are going to drive it hard. They are not legal in V4 Bonneville classes. I'm not sure they are still in production???

The Burtz is a more economical way to get a good block/crank, they are really nice, but also not legal for Bonneville.
Jim Brierley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2024, 09:38 PM   #3
Pete

The Burtz has 2 intake ports like stock.
The Donavan has 4 of better flow design. It is like adding 4 more cylinders if you develop them.
Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2024, 01:34 AM   #4
Dan McEachern

Donovan is no longer offering the D block for sale as far as I'm aware. The block will accept any Model A/B flathead or Overhead valve head made for an A or B block as the cylinder spacing and head bolt layout is the same as a Ford block. Donovan blocks do come up for sale on occasion, but not very often.
Dan McEachern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2024, 09:04 AM   #5
denis4x4