Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2019, 04:04 PM   #1
RichBooth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Exeter, RI
Posts: 6
Default 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

My vehicle came to me in semi-disassembled state. There is a single brake light on the rear, driver's side, with a short wire tail that appears to be cut off. There are no wires anywhere towards the back beyond the battery. I want to install a brake light switch and have read all about what can go wrong and where to get one, but for the life of me, I can't find a photo showing how it looks installed or how it is installed for that matter. I've read that it goes on the cross member, but without a reference I can't figure it out.
Anyone have an installation guide, photos or drawings for the brake light install location?
Thank you!
RichBooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 05:32 PM   #2
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,485
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

See the red line by the center cross member.


Bob
Attached Images
File Type: jpg stopswitch.jpg (81.6 KB, 158 views)
Bob C is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-25-2019, 11:22 AM   #3
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,120
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

See the service bulletins, page 416
__________________
Don't go away mad, just go away.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 04:49 PM   #4
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7,457
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

The brake light switch mounts to the drivers side rear of the center cross member .

You should find three holes in this area where the switch mounts .

The brake pedal rod has a plunger type end at the rear of the brake pedal rod

. The plunger meets the activator on the brake light switch on the drivers side inner center crossmember .

The switch connects to the center cross member with two nuts and bolts .

Two wires connect to the switch .

If the brake light doesn't work try switching the wire connections at the switch
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 08:46 AM   #5
1930deluxe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Garretson S.D.
Posts: 114
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

The switch works opposite of most switches. This switch disengages when the rod is pushed to the rear. The current travels through it when the rod is forward. If the brake lights stay on you need to adjust the brake rod longer to push the light switch rod to the rear more to break the current flow. I hope this make sense.
1930deluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 12:42 PM   #6
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7,457
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

My problem has been that both wires are the same size and color .

The only way that I have determined correct connection at the brake light switch was trial and error .

There are only two wires so its not that bad of a problem .
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 01:38 PM   #7
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,485
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

Quote:
Originally Posted by Purdy Swoft View Post
My problem has been that both wires are the same size and color .

The only way that I have determined correct connection at the brake light switch was trial and error .

There are only two wires so its not that bad of a problem .

Can't figure what difference it makes where the wires go.


Bob
Attached Images
File Type: jpg switch.jpg (47.2 KB, 61 views)
Bob C is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 03:11 PM   #8
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7,457
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

One way that the wires are connected , the brake light will work , the other way and the brake light won't work .

There is only one way that the brake light switch wires can be connected for the brake light to work .
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 04:05 PM   #9
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,120
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

Quote:
Can't figure what difference it makes where the wires go.
One wire goes to one terminal and the other wire goes to the other terminal, as simple as that. It's just an on-off switch, it connects the 2 terminals together and then disconnects them. No magic involved.
__________________
Don't go away mad, just go away.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 05:28 PM   #10
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,485
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

That's what I though, so it doesn't matter which terminals the wires are on.
Bob C is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 06:25 PM   #11
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 10,395
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

It shouldn't matter, but if it's working at all then go with it until it doesn't. Some of the reproduction stuff leaves a lot to be desired. I can't speak for your switch but it should be able to connect either way.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 02:57 AM   #12
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,605
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

If they are LED lights, some are polarity sensitive.
30 Closed Cab PU is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 08:26 AM   #13
daren007
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saint Cloud Mn
Posts: 449
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

???? Why should the wires care.
daren007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 08:33 AM   #14
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

Quote:
Originally Posted by 30 Closed Cab PU View Post
If they are LED lights, some are polarity sensitive.
Please explain what the location of the wires has to do with polarity?

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 09:54 PM   #15
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,456
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

It doesn't matter which wire goes to each terminal.
The only time that matters is when using some of the bad repro switches that were sold.
They were so poorly made that one contact hit the case in the off position, so if the power wire connected to that terminal, the fuse would blow. Put the power wire on the other terminal, and you'd never know you had a junk switch. I've seen this twice on repro switches.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 12:04 AM   #16
Magicbox51
Senior Member
 
Magicbox51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Posts: 569
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Stephens View Post
Please explain what the location of the wires has to do with polarity?
Like you say; It has nothing to do with it. A switch just turns it on or off, no matter what polarity.
__________________
-Bill G
Magicbox51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 09:33 AM   #17
Pat/Ohio
Senior Member
 
Pat/Ohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wilmington, OH/Lakeland, FL
Posts: 748
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

I have been following this thread as I have what may be a brake switch or wiring problem with my 1930 Town Sedan (Briggs). I don't mean to hijack this thread. The brake switch is located outside the left frame rail. I don't have juice at either post on the switch. The wire coming into the switch (hot wire) comes from what source? I just bought this car and am new to Model A's. I haven't had a chance to trace the wire towards the hot source yet, just put it on the lift last evening.

I am assuming the hot wire is live all the time...the ignition switch doesn't need to be in the "on" position to check this?

Thanks in advance,
Pat
Pat/Ohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 10:12 AM   #18
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7,457
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

All of the brake light switches that I've installed on 30-31 model A's have had to be connected one way only if they worked at all and it was trial and error.

All of my model A's now have all new color coded wiring harnesses and new repro brake light switches .

I know that the repro brake light switches are not the best .

If it didn't matter which wire was connected where , I don't believe that all of the model A brake light switches that I've installed had to have the wires reversed if the brake light didn't work .

I figure that someone else installed most of the model A brake light switches other than the present owners .

I feel that I am only wasting my time posting here .
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 10:49 AM   #19
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat/Ohio View Post
I have been following this thread as I have what may be a brake switch or wiring problem with my 1930 Town Sedan (Briggs). I don't mean to hijack this thread. The brake switch is located outside the left frame rail. I don't have juice at either post on the switch. The wire coming into the switch (hot wire) comes from what source? I just bought this car and am new to Model A's. I haven't had a chance to trace the wire towards the hot source yet, just put it on the lift last evening.

I am assuming the hot wire is live all the time...the ignition switch doesn't need to be in the "on" position to check this?

Thanks in advance,
Pat
If your switch is located outside of your left frame rail it is not original. The wire originally came from the wire bundle at the end of the steering column and went to a switch mounted on the frame crossmember. One side of the switch (it doesn't matter which) should be hot at all times. As a temporary fix you should be able to pick up live voltage anywhere. Your assumption that the hot wire should be live all of the time is correct. There is a wiring diagram in the "Instruction Book" that originally came with the car. These books are available from most suppliers for about $10. Be sure to get the one closest to when your car was manufactured.

Charlie Stephens

Last edited by Charlie Stephens; 10-28-2019 at 11:09 AM.
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 11:03 AM   #20
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: 1930 Tudor Brake Light Switch Location

duplicate post
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.