Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-21-2024, 10:57 PM   #1
Ken T

Default Which motor is it?

I'm new to flatheads and I've been reading and learning what I've got. The fire engine is a '41 and weighs 10k lbs. I'm assuming that the motor a 59AB because of the following. The carb has MODEL 59 stamped on it. It has a crab style distributor. The head on the driver side has 59 A-B and on the passenger A. The coolant outlet is centered on the head.

I've read that the 59 A-B was built in '46 to '48. This would mean that it's not original to the vehicle. Here, I learned that it has been rebuilt. I read on Vanpelt that the crab style distributor was on '42 to '45 motors. It doesn't have an oil filter.

IMG_9146.jpg unnamed9.jpg unnamed8.jpg IMG_9370.jpg IMG_9182.jpg

Last edited by Ken T; 02-21-2024 at 11:21 PM.
Ken T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2024, 11:12 PM   #2
petehoovie

Default Re: Which motor is it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken T View Post
I'm new to flatheads and I've been reading and learning what I've got. The fire engine is a '41 and weighs 10k lbs. I'm assuming that the motor a 59AB because of the following. The carb has MODEL 59 stamped on it. It has a crab style distributor. The head on the driver side has 59 A-B and on the passenger A. The coolant outlet is centered on the head.

I've read that the 59 A-B was built in '46 to '48. This would mean that it's not original to the vehicle. Here, I learned that it has been rebuilt. I read on Vanpelt that the crab style distributor was on '42 to '45 motors. It doesn't have an oil filter.

Attachment 536929 Attachment 536930 Attachment 536931 Attachment 536932 Attachment 536933

"Silver rings, your butt! Them's washers!"
"We shot our way out of that town for a dollar's worth of steel holes!" - from 'The Wild Bunch' - 1969

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NReUd2_0u0