Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 10-01-2023, 01:01 PM   #1
poolplayer1

Default 55 Ford Ranch Wagon is Overheating.

Hello everyone here at the forum. I have been away for awhile due to health issues but doing much better now so back to work. I was driving my wagon friday ( outside temp. was 105 degrees) and the temp. gauge went all the way to 235 degrees. I parked for about 30 minutes to let the engine cool down and than drove home. I had installed a new Vintage Air Gen IV AC system a few months back but had not driven it much cause I was replacing parts in the front end. The engine was rebuilt about one year ago. The Radiator is a new 24" 3 core brass rad. I have a new 180 degree thermostat. The upper and lower radiator hoses are new. I have a new 13lbs psi radiator cap. A while back I removed the old mechanical fan and installed a new 16" 3000 CFM electric fan and also installed a new fan controller circuit to turn the fan on when the coolant temp. reaches 190 degree and when the pressures on the A C system reach a certain pressure. Fan is working like it should. When the engine was rebuilt, I put in a new water pump but its the same one that was used in the oem 302 engine. Do you think that now that I have the A C installed, I need a different water pump to keep the coolant cooler? I would appreciate some help with this problem. The A C is working good and keeping the inside temp. at 40 degrees, nice and cold.
poolplayer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2023, 04:00 PM   #2
elmo771

Default Re: 55 Ford Ranch Wagon is Overheating.

I have heard the airflow is restricted when using electric fans Some swear going back to a clutch fan and a fan shroud
elmo771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2023, 04:36 PM   #3
Hot Rod Reverend

Some questions that would help...

1. Were you in heavy traffic or stop and go when it overheated?