Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-04-2016, 08:22 AM   #1
Safewiz

Default To much?

I was outside this AM with my flashlight in the rain checking my oil and water, just like every day. I go to work very early, dark when I leave, so the flashlight is needed. Oh, for those not familiar with me, I am the guy who decided to make my A my daily driver. Even went so far as to sell my normal daily so I would be committed to using this one for all my driving needs. Since this is my daily, I also keep 2 sets of plugs, 2 condensers, 2 sets of points, and a coil, and a test light, all in a large freezer bag, inside of another zip lock freezer bag, all of which I keep in the car. I put about 120 to 150 miles a week on my car. Am I being overly cautious ? I have been wrenching for 40 yrs plus, and never felt the need to do this with any of my previous 40s, 50s, or 60s cars. May just be this is my first Model A, and have not had the experience most of you have had. It never uses oil between changes, and hasn't needed water since I packed the pump 3 mths ago. I just think that it is better to have and not need, then to need and not have. Anyone else out there that does all these things, or am I just being paranoid.
Old 08-04-2016, 08:33 AM   #2
Special Coupe Frank

Default Re: To much?

You're not going to find this stuff anywhere else if you break-down on the road, so best to carry an emergency kit.

I got my un-restored Special Coupe on the road in Feb of '10, and put nearly 10,000 miles on it in the first year (daily driver, about 20-50 miles / day). The only thing the failed on the road requiring replacement was a condenser. Oh, and a head-gasket because of missing ignition cable-clamp on stud # 8. This was a car that I started-out with at 77,000 miles on the clock.