Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-12-2018, 02:00 AM   #1
s55mercury66

Default Autolite 4100 C6AF F questions and discussion

I have a 66 Mercury S55, with a 1.08 C6AF F tagged 4100. The carb is stamped 6AF. The boosters I found in it are D3 primary, and T2 on the secondary side. Does anyone know if these are correct? I am honestly more concerned with driveability than originality, but in searching for hard answers I have come up empty. My next question concerns the stamping on the carb tag. It has C 6DB stamped under the C6AF F. Is that a date code? I have been tinkering with this car and carb since 2008, but a few days ago I decided to check the float level again, and see just what I had for jets. Surprise, surprise, surprise. Someone had installed 67s in the primary side, and 46s in the secondaries. Now I have a few spares, and live at 6600' above sea level, so I put the 46s in the primaries, and 55s in the secondaries. After readjusting everything, driveability improved quite a bit. I haven't been into the secondary side much af this time, I will see how it goes.