Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2019, 06:02 PM   #1
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 6,890
Default security question

Tried to post some pics but I had a security issue
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 06:11 PM   #2
51 MERC-CT
Senior Member
 
51 MERC-CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 4,426
Default Re: security question

Feeling insecure about posting pictures?
__________________
DON'T RECALL DOING SOMETHING FOR MYSELF BASED ON SOMEONE ELSE'S LIKES OR DISLIKES
51 MERC-CT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-10-2019, 06:20 PM   #3
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,041
Default Re: security question

Try reducing the size and posting again. The security message is a generic message, one size fits none.

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 07:00 PM   #4
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 12,631
Default Re: security question

Ron, files being too large is the major reason for posting issues.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 07:22 PM   #5
glennpm
Senior Member
 
glennpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wiscasset, Maine
Posts: 649
Default Re: security question

Hi Ron,


Yeah the message you got is misleading. Its not a security issue but a picture size issue. Its happened to me too and nothing to be concerned about.


Glenn
glennpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 07:40 PM   #6
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 6,890
Default Re: security question

I check the size before I posted. jog is 500k mine were less than 2k. But I could be wrong, because I'm in this Windows 10 system and this is the firest time I've tried to post a picture, and for me it's quite complicated.. It took me several hrs and help from a grand son too get this far. XP waz very simple.
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 08:04 PM   #7
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 12,631
Default Re: security question

I hear ya, I have Windows 10 loaded on an older computer. The up load was from an XP operating system. I was using a newer computer that came with Windows 10 loaded, but it was not allowing me to do what I was wanting to do. So, I dug out my older unit and have been using it for several months. Not sure what the difference is the Win 10 loads, but the older programs that were already loaded work with the upgrade, but I can't load them on the preloaded operating system. It can be a total pain in the ass!
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 08:36 PM   #8
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 6,890
Default Re: security question

Youse guys are absolutely right!!! The file is too big 2.8 m. It's as small as i can make it, so I'll have to bring another gran son. Been trying to post these 4 pics for a week or so, great learning experience. "Stupid is, what stupid does". Don't go away, I'll try again tomorrow.
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 11:11 PM   #9
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 12,631
Default Re: security question

You need to get a program that allows you to reduce a file size.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 11:39 PM   #10
RalphG
Senior Member
 
RalphG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 1,776
Default Re: security question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSeery View Post
You need to get a program that allows you to reduce a file size.
I'm using windows 7 to post and it is easy to downsize a photo using the built in windows paint program. Just click resize and pick the percentage you want to downsize. Not small enough? Click again and continue til the pic is small enough. Although really I did not even need to do that. I find this forum will automatically down size the photos I post. They can be 1.5 mb when I post and the forum down sizes them to less than 100 kb.
RalphG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 03:01 AM   #11
ford38v8
Senior Member
 
ford38v8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,960
Default Re: security question

What's a mb?
__________________
Alan
ford38v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 04:21 AM   #12
51 MERC-CT
Senior Member
 
51 MERC-CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Hartford, Ct
Posts: 4,426
Default Re: security question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ford38v8 View Post
What's a mb?
Megabyte = lots more than a kilobyte (kb)
__________________
DON'T RECALL DOING SOMETHING FOR MYSELF BASED ON SOMEONE ELSE'S LIKES OR DISLIKES
51 MERC-CT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 06:18 AM   #13
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 6,890
Default Re: security question

Well I have the pic size down to 51 K and it seems to upload OK, unfortunately, it don't! However, I'm getting close. Just remember: it's the journey, not the destination. Us old farts have allot of perseverance, or we wouldn't work on Flatheads..
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 10:23 AM   #14
Bob/Pa
Senior Member
 
Bob/Pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: McMurray,Pa
Posts: 227
Default Re: security question

DITTO< Ol'Ron….windows 10 is a real mess, for us old folks.
Bob/Pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 03:04 PM   #15
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 6,890
Default Re: security question

OK Guys, I got it working, but I'm not sure how. See Dual distributors,
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 03:11 PM   #16
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 12,631
Default Re: security question

LOL, that is what normally happens to me! I mess and mess with something on the computer, then it starts working and I'm never sure what really solved it.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.