Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-11-2010, 06:49 PM   #1
700rpm

Default I put the seat belts in

After reading a couple horror stories abut people being thrown out of their Model A's and killed in accidents (none was their fault), I decided it was time to put the belts in my Tudor. I put belts in my Pickup a couple years ago, but the sedan was daunting, both because of access and not knowing what I was going to fasten the belts to.

But I had to take the seats out for reupholstery, and there was the empty car. It took be the better part of two days to figure it out and get the belts and the necessary extra bolts and reinforcing washers and materials, but they're in, and now I can take my grandchildren for a ride in the sedan and belt 'em in.

Next week I get my safety glass. I can't believe I've been driving this car for 49 years with plate glass in the windows. Yikes!
700rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 09:43 PM   #2
skip
Banned

Default Re: I put the seat belts in

Seat Belt anchoring is all about spreading out the forces in a crash. Full width angle bar stock of 1-1/2" x 1-1/2" x 1/4" from port to starboard under some tin with holes drilled through the tin and angle and large diameter thick washers around the shank of the seat belt bolts and good nylock nuts. Note: Stainless steel is no stronger than regular black iron [mild steel] fasteners. If you want you can undercoat or paint the bar stock before installing.

A hardened set of fasteners is nice if they can be found. Really good seat belt webbing fits through a tang that is 'padded' via a vinyl coating in the slot so the slot in the tang does not cut the webb. A requirement of the National Safety ...whatever the heck they call themselves.

So lets see. The ultimate strength of steel is 10,000 lb, times the thickness of steel, divided by four for a safe working load.