Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 11-12-2018, 08:22 PM   #1
Merc Cruzer

Default Powered speakers for 53' Mercury

I have been working on an original radio for a 1953 Mercury that suffers from lack of volume. I have checked all the tubes on a tube tester and they all are good. This radio has a wire (that appears to be original to the radio) coming from the back of the radio that is hot (6V) when the radio is turned on. If I remember correctly some of the speakers in that era were not permeate magnets but rather electro-magnets that required a power source to amplify the radio volume signal. Does any one remember these speakers? Does anyone have a picture of that speaker? Any insight would be appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN8617.jpg (38.0 KB, 17 views)
Merc Cruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 09:45 PM   #2
Jack E/NJ

Default Re: Powered speakers for 53' Mercury

Either the speaker wire coils or audio amplifier output are shot. Probably the speaker coils. The audio output should be able to drive permanent magnet 8-16 ohm speakers. Jack E/NJ
Jack E/NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 03:14 AM   #3
flatheadmurre

The speaker with a coil winding was used as a Chokecoil for the power supply in the radio.
Itīs enough that either a coupling cap or one of the resistors is bad to give you a lower amplifiction.
Amplification of the tube is set by 3 resistors/output transformer any being of from age changes it.
And the bypass capacitor being dried out is also a suspect.
A Schmatic so you can measure values and an oscilloscope is you best friend
flatheadmurre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 08:37 AM   #4
Merc Cruzer

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatheadmurre View Post
The speaker with a coil winding was used as a Chokecoil for the power supply in the radio.