Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2019, 02:47 AM   #1
Alaska Jim
Senior Member
 
Alaska Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palmer, Alaska
Posts: 1,244
Default Brake light pressure switch

I have seen , either here or the late V8 forum, that some guys are replacing bad brake light pressure switches with a pressure switch from Harley-Davidson. I thought I had written the part # down, but can not find it. anyone know what the part # is ? The switch on my avatar has gone bad, and I need a good quality switch to replace the one on the car. Thanks for any help anyone can provide.--- Jim
Alaska Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 07:47 AM   #2
PeteVS
Senior Member
 
PeteVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: FP, NJ
Posts: 2,285
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

I think that Speedway has it.
__________________
Don't never get rid of nuthin!
PeteVS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-14-2019, 08:08 AM   #3
Frank Miller
Senior Member
 
Frank Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 1,660
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

I've had them all fail. If there is a Harley dealer near you any parts guy with triple digit IQ can find you what you need. It may have the spade connectors instead of the bullet.
__________________
“The technique of infamy is to start two lies at once and get people arguing heatedly over which is true.” ~ Ezra Pound
Frank Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 08:15 AM   #4
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 5,105
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

It's odd. After over 60 years and dozens of cars (from "winter beaters" to complete restorations), I have never had a problem with an original Ford brake light switch.

I wonder what I'm doing wrong?
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 08:28 AM   #5
cmbrucew
Senior Member
 
cmbrucew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North of sandy ago, CA.
Posts: 1,781
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by tubman View Post
It's odd. After over 60 years and dozens of cars (from "winter beaters" to complete restorations), I have never had a problem with an original Ford brake light switch.

I wonder what I'm doing wrong?

Maybe because you are not messing around with Dot5.


Just a guess


Bruce
__________________
Works good
Lasts long time
cmbrucew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 09:22 AM   #6
Tim Ayers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,050
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

Are they somewhat universal? I found some NOS Raybestos ones at a swap and picked them up since they are good 'ol USA. Thread pitch is the same for the end of the master.
Tim Ayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 09:26 AM   #7
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 13,194
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

Per an older thread:
Ken tx posted the part number as - H D brake light switch #72023-51C made in USA.
V8coopman posted that it was superseded by #72023-51D.

The -51D appears that it might be a little different style to me. The Blue Streak part number claims to fulfill requirements for H-D -51A, -51B & -51C. CECOMINOD025083 Standard Motor Products Blue Streak Stop Light Switch MC-SLS2
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 51z9ZfpneFL._SL1091_.jpg (24.0 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by JSeery; 11-14-2019 at 09:32 AM.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 09:27 AM   #8
TJ
Senior Member
 
TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Napa,California
Posts: 4,091
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

Because I use Dot5 I use the mechanical lever type switch from the early Chevy pickups. You can find them on e-Bay or at most local auto parts houses. Cost about $12-15.
TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 09:53 AM   #9
38bill
Senior Member
 
38bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 721
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

FYI: The Harley switch failed for me and it cost more too.
38bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 10:02 AM   #10
51504bat
Senior Member
 
51504bat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SoCal-Redlands
Posts: 1,191
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

Someone here or on the HAMB posted a link for a low pressure switch. I've got the info at home in the shop. If no one posts the info I'll post it later today. I bought one and so far so good about it working and working on a lower pressure
__________________
Making the simple complicated for over 30 years.
51504bat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 10:39 AM   #11
FritzJr
Member
 
FritzJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern Neck, VA
Posts: 82
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

Mechanical switches are much more reliable. Take a look at the '58 - '66 Corvette switch. Easy to mount and quite cheap
FritzJr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 10:48 AM   #12
Anteek29
Senior Member
 
Anteek29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Posts: 597
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

Also, think of the safety aspect...A mechanical switch provides brake light activation much earlier when the pedal is tapped.
__________________
Alan
1929 Special Coupe
1941 Pick-Up
1955 Victoria
Anteek29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 10:52 AM   #13
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 5,105
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmbrucew View Post
Maybe because you are not messing around with Dot5.


Just a guess


Bruce
I tried Dot-5 in a Corvette once. It worked, but was such a PIA to get bled that I never used it again.

It would be interesting to find out what kind of brake fluid the guys experiencing problems were using.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 03:41 PM   #14
51504bat
Senior Member
 
51504bat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SoCal-Redlands
Posts: 1,191
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by 51504bat View Post
Someone here or on the HAMB posted a link for a low pressure switch. I've got the info at home in the shop. If no one posts the info I'll post it later today. I bought one and so far so good about it working and working on a lower pressure
The low pressure switch was from Classic Performance Products in Placentia, CA 800-522-5004 Part number CPP-LBPS They list it as 45psi. Cost in August was 16 bucks plus tax shipping included.
__________________
Making the simple complicated for over 30 years.
51504bat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 03:48 PM   #15
TagMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Alvaton, Kentucky, USA
Posts: 878
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

I had an original GM switch from a 1937 C*******T in a coupe I owned from 1991 until I sold it last year. I had DOT5 in it since I bought it and changed the brake fluid once in all that time, about 10-years ago. I averaged approx. 2k miles driving per year with the car. The brake system was working fine when I sold the car last May. That was roughly 28-years with no problems.
TagMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 07:04 PM   #16
fordv8j
Senior Member
 
fordv8j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 163
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

I have got them at N A P A, they had the correct bullet connectors, don't take much pressure to activate brake lights, I use dot 5 fluid
fordv8j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 07:12 PM   #17
Alaska Jim
Senior Member
 
Alaska Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palmer, Alaska
Posts: 1,244
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

Thanks for all the answers and information, it is all very useful. The car is in storage for the winter, so there is no hurry on the repair, now I just need to make a decision on which way to go. I like the idea of the mechanical switch, but not sure how I would mount it with the pedals going through the floor, an not being swing down pedals. there is not much room under the car for anything. I will have to take a look at things. my brother has come up with a few NOS Ford pressure switches, so I may try one of those first since the price is right. Thanks , ---Jim
Alaska Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 08:04 PM   #18
Jersey Devil
Member
 
Jersey Devil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Delanco, New Jersey
Posts: 78
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

I went to purchase a brake light switch from a Harley dealer for a friend who used Dot 5 and insisted on an HD brake light switch because HD uses Dot 5 fluid

The dealer told me HD hasn’t used Dot 5 in over a decade. Since all their bikes now have abs systems they have been using Dot 4.

Same brake light switch in my 49 using Dot 4 for over 18 years, no problems.

Tom
Jersey Devil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 08:26 PM   #19
paul2748
Senior Member
 
paul2748's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midland Park, NJ
Posts: 2,515
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

If you can do it, go with a mechanical switch. I changed all my cars to a mechanical switch - if the switch is adjusted correctly, the brake lights go on instantly when the pedal is pushed. No worry about the guy behind you.
__________________
48 Ford Conv
56 Tbird
54 Ford Victoria
paul2748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 08:49 AM   #20
Frank Miller
Senior Member
 
Frank Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 1,660
Default Re: Brake light pressure switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaska Jim View Post
Thanks for all the answers and information, it is all very useful. The car is in storage for the winter, so there is no hurry on the repair, now I just need to make a decision on which way to go. I like the idea of the mechanical switch, but not sure how I would mount it with the pedals going through the floor, an not being swing down pedals. there is not much room under the car for anything. I will have to take a look at things. my brother has come up with a few NOS Ford pressure switches, so I may try one of those first since the price is right. Thanks , ---Jim
I pondered this and was going to try drilling the pedal and putting in a momentary push button that you would step on every time you hit the pedal. just run the wire along the the pedal arm. A little ingenuity and it could be done. You could use it in conjunction with the brake switch so if one failed the other would work.
Something like this where you could drill and tap the pedal and lock it from underneath so it protrudes just enough. Paint it black and it will barely be noticeable.
https://www.amazon.com/Heavy-Utility...P6V0E7NXEWX1H6
__________________
“The technique of infamy is to start two lies at once and get people arguing heatedly over which is true.” ~ Ezra Pound
Frank Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.