Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-31-2011, 08:37 PM   #1
mathew21

Default Help a Newbie thinking about buying a 1929 Model A

Hello Everyone,
I have always wanted a Model A . Well I have the opportunity to buy a 1929 Model A Sports Coupe. The Car has been taken apart by the owner who has now fell ill. He told me he has everything to put it back together and more. He's a friend of a friend so I do believe him. He stripped the frame and painted it. The body is very solid. He has had most of the Chrome redone. He has brand new tires for it.

Now here's the dilemma I am not a mechanic. I have never worked on a Model A before. I used to ride in my Grandpa's when I was kid if that counts for anything. If I took it apart I know I could put it back together. Since I did not take apart I know it's going to be harder. He has reassured me it's not that hard and he has manuals he will give me that will assist in the reassemble process. I am blessed to have a lot of mechanic friends.

I guess the question I'm asking are their manuals that show good detail of how to reassemble? Does his asking price seem fair? ($5,200). One more question I hate to ask but I have to. I am a bigger guy well wider guy. 5" 8" but around 250 lbs. Will I fit in the car OK to drive it? The good news is I'm slowing loosing it I was 40lbs heavier this time last year.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 11-22-09025.jpg (63.7 KB, 178 views)

Last edited by mathew21; 01-31-2011 at 08:51 PM.
mathew21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:55 PM   #2
Tinker

Default Re: Help a Newbie thinking about buying a 1929 Model A

It looks like a special couple. $5000, is the engine and drivetrain good? Title? I'd buy it, if so.

Take it one step at a time and ask a lot of questions, no question is to small. The guys here will always give you the best advice. You'll probably get more info then you'll expect!