Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-24-2015, 04:07 PM   #1
loubob

Default Noise In L.R. Brake Assy

When drum(new c.i.) is torqued to 100 ft. lbs. I get several noises when turning the wheel. One of the noises is a scraping sound. Another is a 'clicking' noise.
When drum is on, but not torqued, I can only hear a faint 'clicking' noise.
I believe I've double checked everything and can't find a cause. The top adjuster is all the way back.
Being that I am new to A's, and don't claim to be a master mechanic, what am I missing??? What should I check?

Suggestions and thoughts please.

Bob
loubob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 05:13 PM   #2
Tom Wesenberg

Default Re: Noise In L.R. Brake Assy

If the drum is scraping the backing plate, then you will need to use a shim on the tapered part of the axle to move the drum outward. Have you checked the backing plate to make sure it isn't bent? Many have hit the road when the wheel fell off, or when the car fell off a jack.

Could the clicking just be the spider gears turning?
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 05:56 PM   #3
larrys40

The scraping could be from the lip of the drum hitting the backing plate. sometimes backing plates get bent inward, sometimes the bottoms get bent when rear axles are moved, etc without paying attention at this area.
Additionally the emergency brake pins could be facing the wrong way ( should be heads facing outward) as well as the hub may need a shim between the axle/hub.

It's a matter of checking to see what's rubbing with proper diagnosing, and remedy to correct the issues mentioned above.
As far as the clicking sound it could be the rear axle as you rotate and move the spyder gears, could also be the emergency brake catching and moving to the carrier plate...

After careful diagnosis and correction be sure to properly torque the rear hub to 125-150 ft lbs