Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 06-24-2013, 04:09 PM   #1
Randini509

Default Spark advance lever & backfire

I recently put a new timing gear on, dropped the pan and cleaned it out. replaced all the gaskets put it all back together. And re-did the timing. My 1929 Backfires at the top of each gear, at what feels like top speed at each gear. And the other day it backfired shortly after shutting it down. I havent owned it long, and i have been driving around with the spark advance all the way down after startup. But i was recently told i should be driving with it 1/2 way down just normal driving, and 3/4 the way down at faster longer driving. But could this backfire be from carb settings? Or maybe my timing isnt spot on? Or could driving with the spark advance lever all the way down do it? Im new to the Model A seen, dont know all that much yet. Im sure there is already a thread on this but i couldnt find it through the search. sorry if so.
Randini509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 04:55 PM   #2
Purdy Swoft

Default Re: Spark advance lever & backfire

You've got an exhaust leak, either where the exhaust pipe connects to the manifold or where the manifold meets the block. The exhaust manifold may also be warped. Exhaust leaks contribute to back fire or pop at gear changes or when decelerating. Driving with the spark advanced will not cause backfire. I have cranked with the spark fully retarded and drove with the spark fully advanced for 53 years with no problems. I never lug the engine. Some retard is needed when creeping over trails with hills and sand beds. I usually drive with the gas adjusting valve (knob on the choke rod) , about 1/4 turn open to the left after warm up and up to a full turn to the left if real cold, untill warm up. Driving with the spark lever half way up the quadrant will cause overheating and loss of power.