Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-15-2015, 06:19 PM   #1
wex65

Default Freshening up under the hood, paint question

I have the motor out of the wife's 55 Thunderbird and whilst the engine bay is empty (well, after I remove the remaining 20 other items!) I am thinking of putting some torch red into the bay to have it match the body. The prior owner decided matt black looked better(?!).

My question is this. I am no paint expert although I have performed a couple of small projects. Any recommendations for paint type for under the hood? The body itself was painted and color cut in the last 5-6 years and looks very fresh. Just looking to have it look 'respectable', not looking to bring it to pebble beach...
wex65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 06:50 PM   #2
miker98038

Default Re: Freshening up under the hood, paint question

Assuming the car is the correct color, you can just have more mixed. My local paint shops can even put it in a rattle can if I don't want to drag the paint gun out for a small job.

I did the underhood area last summer, same reason, the motor was out. Lots of degreaser, wiped down with wax and grease remover. Blue painters masking tape, masking paper (I've had paint bleed thru newspaper). My other favorite for masking the brake and fuel lines is aluminum foil. You just crumple it on, put a couple layers, much easier around the frame and suspension than tape. Buy the cheap house brand at WalMart. You're probably going to want some flat and semi gloss black for the steering box, frame, etc. if it's already black, do that first, saves on masking.
miker98038 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 07:31 PM   #3
packrat5
BANNED