Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 11-28-2011, 10:44 PM   #1
buyitsmart

Question How important is it to replace the head bolts when installing a HC head??

I am building a touring car and so I thought I would add a Snyder's 6.1:1 HC head. I received it today.

I got my factory head off and I'm looking at the head bolts. I have new moly head bolts but I'm afraid to try to get the old bolts out because I don't want to break one off in the head. I have never worked with helicoil before and the thought of having to drill out a broken stud freaks me out...

The men that restored my car a year ago said "as best as they could remember" they took the head off to check out the condition of the valves and cylinder walls and they said they used new moly bolts when they put it back together. They were working on two engines at the same time and they believe mine had the new bolts.

Doe it look like they did that based upon these pictures?
Do my valves look ok?

Thanks for your help...this is my first A and I don't want to mess things up.

Ken in Orlando

P.S. I can see how the Snyder head gives higher compression with the smaller chamber.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_9917-r.jpg (54.4 KB, 202 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_9915-r.jpg (64.0 KB, 191 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_9941-r.jpg (46.1 KB, 168 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_9942-r.jpg (53.0 KB, 164 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_9932-r.jpg (31.7 KB, 169 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_9931-r.jpg (32.9 KB, 168 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_9939-r.jpg (62.0 KB, 169 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_9938-r.jpg (52.6 KB, 166 views)
buyitsmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 11:22 PM   #2
lazlobassett

Default Re: How important is it to replace the head bolts when installing a HC head??