Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2017, 06:56 PM   #1
Mongo
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 52
Question Power house generator woes

Power house status.
- Hook up to battery. positive to ground negative to the output post- it motors pretty good.
- Field measures about 3.5 ohms
- Growler shows no shorts on the com
- Have checked segment to segment on the com with ohm meter--each segment reads less than ohm
- when in the growler I do not seem to get voltage between adjacent segments any where on the com---not sure of what levels to expect.
- cleaned brushes and com
- seems to be decent spring pressure on brushes - moved field adjustment back and forth
- scratched my head lots!

When I spin with a good drill--lots of speed it lays there like a stunned chicken - perhaps half a volt output. Perhaps I am the stunned chicken doing something wrong!!!
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 08:58 PM   #2
redmodelt
Senior Member
 
redmodelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 3,240
Default Re: Power house generator woes

Try zapping the output post with line (battery) voltage, maybe it just needs to be polarized.
__________________
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas!
redmodelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-07-2017, 10:52 AM   #3
Mongo
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 52
Default Re: Power house generator woes

I believe I have done that--does that happen when you hook it to run it like a motor? I have also connected the field separately--- negative to lead and positive to ground as well
I have also checked the connection on the brush holders to the frame etc.
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 01:15 PM   #4
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 3,988
Default Re: Power house generator woes

I look for amperage between segments, depending on how it is wound, I look for the position of the highest reading, and rotate and test each segment, most have made 10-15 amps--- remember it is ac amps on the growler---- if the solder connection between wires and commutator bar is bad you may show good with most tests, but have low- no output
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 05:14 PM   #5
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,707
Default Re: Power house generator woes

Just a short hijack here: I have about 3 powerhouse generators I want to move on but the brush ring is either missing or damaged. Are they available?
__________________
Too much is barely enough
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 05:50 PM   #6
Mongo
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 52
Default Re: Power house generator woes

Good info thx
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 11:34 PM   #7
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 26,116
Default Re: Power house generator woes

The brush holders are hard to find in good condition.
If you have the parts, I have used JB Weld to repair them.

When the field isn't working, the generator will put out about 1/2 volt from residual magnetism.
I have found poor solder joints where the field coil wires twist together. I have also found a broken wire just inside the wrap, so I cut the wrap back enough to solder the wire. I check the fields by connecting a battery charger on 6 volts, then read the amps. Powerhouse fields should draw about 1 1/2 to 2 amps.

Poor output can also be the ground brush spring post not making a good connection where it meets the metal frame. I've had to use a large soldering gun to heat and solder the post. Try not to heat the Bakelite, or it may crack.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 09:54 AM   #8
Mongo
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 52
Default Re: Power house generator woes

I went over what I thought I had checked correctly and just as repeated on the forum several times there was bad post connections. Thx again for reinforcing what has already been indicated several times.
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.