Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2014, 12:44 PM   #1
rodderbilly
Member
 
rodderbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: italy
Posts: 38
Default changing plugs every 100 miles!!

Hi all...i have a 8ba flathead and i'm frustrated cause my spark plugs don't work more than 100miles +-....!!!i have changed all wires and i put a pertronix kit and new coil from bubba.....but the problem is not solved...for some time engine runs good and than starts to crakle and runs rought....can you suggest me some of the causes?thanks a lot!
rodderbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 12:50 PM   #2
Mart
Senior Member
 
Mart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Solihull, England.
Posts: 6,269
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

What are the plugs like when you take them out? Is the motor running over-rich? (too much fuel?)

Mart.
Mart is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 07-01-2014, 01:01 PM   #3
Ed Pitts
Senior Member
 
Ed Pitts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 597
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

What brand of plugs and heat range are you using?
Ed
Ed Pitts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 01:07 PM   #4
rodderbilly
Member
 
rodderbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: italy
Posts: 38
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mart View Post
What are the plugs like when you take them out? Is the motor running over-rich? (too much fuel?)

Mart.
plugs are black with residual of combustion....that's a problem that i have before i put the pertronix kit ,new coil and wires......hey that's a car i buy from a guy in uk some years ago.....is name is Simeon Roberts.......by the way.....when i start the engine i have Always a little popping or crakling.....after some km i notate that the issue became insistent....engine was stock with a 97 now has a navarro intake with 97s ....i buy the new one in uk......
rodderbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 01:08 PM   #5
rodderbilly
Member
 
rodderbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: italy
Posts: 38
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

plugs are ngk b6l....Ed....distr is a mallory with mechanical advance....i read somewhere that this mallory are not well tuned for the flathead....i don't have a kit to register the internal advance....

Last edited by rodderbilly; 07-01-2014 at 01:14 PM.
rodderbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 01:09 PM   #6
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 13,756
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

If plugs are black it is to rich (fuel mixture) or the plugs are to cold (heat range).
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 01:12 PM   #7
junk yard kid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: san diego
Posts: 113
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

are you running those little four inch paper air filters? They dont work for long and maybe thats the problem. Maybe try a different brand of plugs.
junk yard kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 01:19 PM   #8
rodderbilly
Member
 
rodderbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: italy
Posts: 38
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by junk yard kid View Post
are you running those little four inch paper air filters? They dont work for long and maybe thats the problem. Maybe try a different brand of plugs.
i have scoops with screen in the 97s...that's the kit from speedway..
rodderbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 01:27 PM   #9
felix37
Senior Member
 
felix37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,088
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by junk yard kid View Post
are you running those little four inch paper air filters? They dont work for long and maybe thats the problem. Maybe try a different brand of plugs.
I had that same problem once. there was a bunch of those china filters that would not breathe. I kept fowling plugs and finally realized that my breather was the problem. switched to K&N element and have not had the problem since.
felix37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 02:37 PM   #10
42merc
Senior Member
 
42merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Buchanan, MI
Posts: 582
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

The filter screens are the root of the problem.
I just went through this same thing on a friends '32 with 2 strombergs. sooty plugs & ran like it had a bad fuel pump. After much fussing, finally took away the screens & it ran like it's supposed to.
42merc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 02:50 PM   #11
Ronnieroadster
Senior Member
 
Ronnieroadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Coast in CT
Posts: 683
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

If the screen removal did not help try NGK spark plugs if your not already using them. NGK offers two heat ranges for the flathead the plug numbers are B-4 and B-6 the B-4 plug is the hotter plug. If your using champion H-10 plugs I gave up on them years ago their made in mexico and and in my opion are junk.
Autolit also offers a plug for the flathead part number 216 its much better than champion but not as good as NKG plugs.
Ronnieroadster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:25 PM   #12
rodderbilly
Member
 
rodderbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: italy
Posts: 38
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronnieroadster View Post
If the screen removal did not help try NGK spark plugs if your not already using them. NGK offers two heat ranges for the flathead the plug numbers are B-4 and B-6 the B-4 plug is the hotter plug. If your using champion H-10 plugs I gave up on them years ago their made in mexico and and in my opion are junk.
Autolit also offers a plug for the flathead part number 216 its much better than champion but not as good as NKG plugs.
Ronnie just now i buy a set of 10 NGK B-4L plugs....i choice them since till now i'm using the B-6L that are more cold....thanks for the support!
rodderbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:29 PM   #13
rodderbilly
Member
 
rodderbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: italy
Posts: 38
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 42merc View Post
The filter screens are the root of the problem.
I just went through this same thing on a friends '32 with 2 strombergs. sooty plugs & ran like it had a bad fuel pump. After much fussing, finally took away the screens & it ran like it's supposed to.
42MERC....your friend took away the screens...but what use him for air filter?only the scoops without protection for carbs?thanks for the interest..!
rodderbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:32 PM   #14
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 13,756
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

Let us know how the hotter plugs work. Also interested in the screens issue as I have that setup on an engine I am currently getting ready to run.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:47 PM   #15
AnthonyG
Senior Member
 
AnthonyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pa.
Posts: 1,608
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

What kind of carb / carb's ?
__________________
Nomad
AnthonyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:50 PM   #16
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 5,986
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

[QUOTE=rodderbilly;903180....... now has a navarro intake with 97s ....![/QUOTE]

As he said above. DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


It's one thing to be ignorant! It's a whole 'nother story when you're proud of it!




V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:59 PM   #17
rodderbilly
Member
 
rodderbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: italy
Posts: 38
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyG View Post
What kind of carb / carb's ?
carbs are 97s big logo on a navarro racing intake.....one is new made in uk....
rodderbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 04:01 PM   #18
Mart
Senior Member
 
Mart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Solihull, England.
Posts: 6,269
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

I've only ever messed with 94's but some things are universal.

Over rich could be caused by:
Fuel pressure too high.
Needle valve not sealing (debris on seat)
Punctured or damaged float
Fuel level set too high.
Main jets too big.
Damaged power valve (94 only)
Filter clogged.

Mart.
Mart is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 07:42 PM   #19
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 7,547
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

rodderbilly, Take a good close up photo of each plug tip and post it, if possible. thanks.
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 09:18 PM   #20
Terry,OH
Senior Member
 
Terry,OH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,395
Default Re: changing plugs every 100 miles!!

It does sound as if your running too rich. Do you know the size of the jets and the power valves in the two 97'S??? Does the engine use oil?? You may want to contact Uncle Max for his suggestion on jet size, he was spot on for my 2-97's Send him an email or personal message here on the ford barn.
Terry,OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.