Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2019, 10:20 AM   #1
patrickt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 10
Default Electrolock question

Hello All !
Our A engine is about to be rebuilt, but for the longest time was running with an old "standard" distributor (NO Electrolock cable or threaded hole in distributor ). So we decided to get a reproduction distributor that includes the big threaded hole on the side for the Electrolock cable ( Which we may or may not put on the car, that's another story...)

Given our dash doesn't have an Electrolock ignition switch, can we wire up the distributor in the conventional manner ? To put it another way, will the distributor electrical work correctly WITHOUT the Electrolock cable screwed on the distributor? Thank You.
Patrick
patrickt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2019, 10:37 AM   #2
Jim Brierley
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 2,848
Default Re: Electrolock question

Yes it will. The thread is a standard pipe thread, 3/8" if I remember right. So feed the wire directly into the hole, or put a short piece of pipe into it first.
Jim Brierley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-08-2019, 10:41 AM   #3
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 10,005
Default Re: Electrolock question

It depends on how the distributor is set up. If it is set up for an armored cable then you can use one with just the wire protruding from the end in the dash to connect to a standard switch. If the distributor is converted with a modern points & condenser plate in it. A plain wire can be used between the distributor and the dash. They make a switch that appears to be a pop out that can be used in lieu of the original Electrolock. Reproduction pop outs were available for a long time but they weren't as reliable as the original Electrolock units. Rebuilt originals are sometimes available on flea-pay but they will be expensive. I imagine everything is expensive in your location though.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2019, 02:51 PM   #4
Werner
Senior Member
 
Werner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany, near Aachen
Posts: 381
Default Re: Electrolock question

Hallo, does anyone have a photo of how and where the Electrolock aluminum emblem was attached original on the armored cable?


I say thanks in advance!
__________________
Beste Gruesse aus Deutschland,
Werner


Ford Model A Roadster, 1928
Citroen 11 CV, 1947
Honda CB 450 K 1, 1968
Hercules Wankel Rotary Engine, 1976 (Canadian version)
Werner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2019, 08:50 PM   #5
Mike Peters
Senior Member
 
Mike Peters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South East Wisconsin
Posts: 589
Default Re: Electrolock question

https://www.google.com/search?q=mode...X--pyeM:&vet=1
Mike Peters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 09:55 AM   #6
patrickt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 10
Default Re: Electrolock question

Thank you both for your replies !
I have only seen pics of the armored cable, and can't quite remember what the inside of the threaded hole (for the armored cable) on the side of the distributor looks like. Thus I'd like to ask for some clarification.

JIM BRIERLY - Does the threaded pipe/pipes serve only as a guide for the wire coming from a standard ignition switch ? And when you mention feeding the wire directly into the hole, is this a smaller hole within the threaded hole ? Do I then connect this same wire inside the distributor to the contact breaker points ?

ROTORWRENCH - It is a reproduction distributor for use with the armored cable for the Electrolock, except I don't plan on using an Electrolock, rather a standard ignition switch.
patrickt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 12:14 PM   #7
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,362
Default Re: Electrolock question

It is a reproduction distributor for use with the armored cable for the Electrolock, except I don't plan on using an Electrolock, rather a standard ignition switch.

This is what you will need. https://www.brattons.com/shorter-arm...ion-cable.html

Bob
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 04:05 PM   #8
Werner
Senior Member
 
Werner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany, near Aachen
Posts: 381
Default Re: Electrolock question

I meant the attached picture of the label. Where was that attached to the armored cable from the ignition?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 64-20828.jpg (72.5 KB, 14 views)
__________________
Beste Gruesse aus Deutschland,
Werner


Ford Model A Roadster, 1928
Citroen 11 CV, 1947
Honda CB 450 K 1, 1968
Hercules Wankel Rotary Engine, 1976 (Canadian version)
Werner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 04:08 PM   #9
F.M.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 283
Default Re: Electrolock question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Werner View Post
I meant the attached picture of the label. Where was that attached to the armored cable from the ignition?
Right on the metal part that screws into the dist..
F.M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 05:56 PM   #10
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 10,005
Default Re: Electrolock question

The armored cable was designed to protect the wire against heat (cylinder head) and tampering (hot wire for theft). It has a spring loaded terminal that makes contact with the ignition breaker components inside the distributor. The breaker plate & condenser parts have to be like the original components for the spring loaded terminal to make good contact with the components in there. If it has a different points plate with modern type breaker points & condenser then a wire will have to be connected to them internally.

On the armored cable data plate, only a certain run of those ignition components had that feature. The time frame was some what short lived.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 07:00 PM   #11
patrickt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 10
Default Re: Electrolock question

BOB - Thanks for the link.

ROTORWRENCH - That pretty much answers my approach to connecting the switch to distributor wire, as well as knowing how the armored cable works. As far as I know, this repro distributor uses repro interior parts as well, so I might go for the cable that Bob mentioned. Lacking this cable, I will then try to connect the wire inside the distributor. Many thanks Rotorwrench !
patrickt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 08:30 PM   #12
F.M.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 283
Default Re: Electrolock question

Quote:
Originally Posted by rotorwrench View Post
The armored cable was designed to protect the wire against heat (cylinder head) and tampering (hot wire for theft). It has a spring loaded terminal that makes contact with the ignition breaker components inside the distributor. The breaker plate & condenser parts have to be like the original components for the spring loaded terminal to make good contact with the components in there. If it has a different points plate with modern type breaker points & condenser then a wire will have to be connected to them internally.

On the armored cable data plate, only a certain run of those ignition components had that feature. The time frame was some what short lived.
The cable data plate was used from the beginning of production thru Sept.1930..
F.M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 11:26 AM   #13
Jim Brierley
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 2,848
Default Re: Electrolock question

Yes, the pipe only acts as a guide. The wire would connect to the plate as the standard cable does, some modification will be needed at the wire end.
Jim Brierley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 04:57 PM   #14
supergnat
Senior Member
 
supergnat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Palmyra, NJ
Posts: 401
Default Re: Electrolock question

https://www.brattons.com/dual-positi...yle-cable.html You can order this from Brattons and it will look like the pop-out and protect the wire to boot.
supergnat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 09:06 PM   #15
patrickt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 10
Default Re: Electrolock question

JIM BRIERLY- Thanks again!

SUPERGNAT - Thanks for the link.
patrickt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.