Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 06-04-2016, 06:26 PM   #1
mitch3951

Default Flathead loses power under load

Hello,

I have a 1939 ford that I've been having problems with, I rebuild the original carburetor (A Ford 94) It will idle fine and even run fine but in 3rd gear at about 60 mph it will bog down, spit and sputter but I'll let up on it and it will go away its not a constant thing it will do it then it won't. Is this still a carburetor issue or is it electrical like in the distributor? it has the original helmet style distributor as well. I'm at a loss on what it can be. I'm new to Flatheads and I'm only 22 years old so its learning experience. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!!
mitch3951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 08:10 PM   #2
ford38v8

Default Re: Flathead loses power under load