Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 06-10-2014, 05:45 PM   #1
Lawrie

Default drive line vib

I have been chasing a drive line vibration in my 33 for 14 years,
Once I got it to do about 3000klms as smooth as ,then the other month I had the rear end out to clean it up and paint it and on refitting it the vibe was back,it comes in after about 30 -60 miles,and is just as you get off the gas,like on the float,
it changes as the car goes over undulations on the road as the rear end goes up and down.
Stop for lunch or coffee and its right for another 30 or so miles,
Now, I have replaced every thing in the drive line,from engine mounts,pilot bearing,new clutch,balanced engine ( that is as smooth as)gearbox bearings,throw out bearings,quite a few NOS universals,(all balanced)roller bearing in the front of the torque tube to get the up/down play to .006,new and ballanced drive shaft,splined coupling,all new rear end bearings ,wheel bearings, tyres,balanced wheels,spring shackles,etc.

This time I have found one thing that I think may be the cause.
The retainer for the gearbox mainshaft bearing, B 7085, is spigoted over the rear bearing and bolted to the rear of the gearbox,and the B 4513 cap u/joint housing inner fits onto it via the 4 x B 5098 bolts,
These bolts are all that locate B4513 cap(and driveshaft) to keep it on the centre line of the mainshaft and bearing,thus keeping the driveshaft true to it via the u/joint.
If these bolts are loose or worn,or the B 7085 has worn holes where these bolts locate,then the B4513 can move up or down depending on how front of the torque tube sitting when you slide them together before you tighten the B 5098 bolts.
On the checking the one on my spares ,I see there is a fair amount of movement on these parts.all up about .030 up and down movement of the B5413 cap.