Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-19-2019, 02:27 PM   #1
djuby1

Default Condenser Replacement

Has anybody heard of a A.L. Burn Proof Condensor? I have found all kinds of technical info. on this part but have not been able to locate them from any local vendors. Would appreciate it if somebody might know where these can be purchased at.

dav
djuby1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 02:36 PM   #2
Gary WA

Default Re: Condenser Replacement

Go direct to A&L parts specialty Connecticut
Old 08-19-2019, 02:59 PM   #3
31Tudor

I think most of the main suppliers carry that condenser. Brattons main condenser says burn proof in the description. I think the others carry that one also.
31Tudor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 03:08 PM   #4
Kurt in NJ

I have been using the same one for over 30 years, the first ones A&L made the strap was soldered on, I melted the solder off--- with red hot exhaust manifold,but the condenser still works--- so I have tried to burn it out, I was buying then at the A&L booth at Hershey
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 05:10 PM   #5
Dutie

Kurt, My solder on the condenser melted also. Had too much time one day and decided to get creative. Worked for me and was much cooler being so close to the manifold. Also did the carb area, now I can hold it and its not near as hot. Good luck and be creative.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1308.jpg (71.9 KB, 184 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1311.jpg (56.2 KB, 162 views)
Dutie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 06:47 PM   #6
SSsssteamer

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
I had a run of bad condensers. With a heater manifold in the way, it was a nuisance, so I have since mounted the new condensers from the coil on the firewall. It didn't seem to affect their performance at all. No more heat problems for the condenser either.