Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2018, 11:35 PM   #1
James A
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
Default Water Temperature Gauge

I added an aftermarket water temperature gauge under the dash of my Model A. I mean the type with a probe stud which I installed in a hole in the water inlet connection on the side of the block. It looks good but it's not working. Why not, I wonder? Could it be that it's made for a pressurized system and the Model A is non pressurized? That's the only reason I could think of.
James A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 11:47 PM   #2
Jim/GA
Senior Member
 
Jim/GA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Young Harris, GA
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

It will work on any engine, any cooling system. That's not your problem.

You say it does not work. What does that mean? It never shows the engine getting warm?

You have put it in the "cold water line" that goes from the bottom of the radiator to the engine inlet. This water will leave the radiator close to the temperature of the outside air.

You don't say where you live, but I'm guessing it is winter there and cool. So this temperature gauge will not get very warm this time of year. In the summer it should read up around 90 degrees or so. It does not tell you the temperature of your engine, though. You need to instal it in the water outlet on the top of the engine, above the water pump, to get the engine temperature.

Let us know what happens.
__________________
Jim Cannon
"Have a Model A day!"
  • Repair
  • Restore
  • Drive
  • Enjoy!
  • Join MAFCA
http://tinyurl.com/Join-MAFCA
Jim/GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-29-2018, 11:56 PM   #3
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Remove the probe from water inlet, heat up some water to boiling on your stove, take the pan to your A and stick the probe in it. Should read the temp of the water. This will tell you if your gauge is working, and your issue is as Jim above describes.
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 01:21 AM   #4
Chris Haynes
Senior Member
 
Chris Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Hills, CA and Pine Grove, CA
Posts: 2,351
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

A gauge works much better when installed in the water outlet. That tells you the water temperature as it leaves the block. Not after being cooled by the radiator.
__________________
1921 Runabout
1930 Tudor
Early 1930 AA
Speed costs money. How fast do you want to go?
Chris Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 09:47 AM   #5
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Here is an example of a Water Outlet you can purchase that makes mounting the probe easy.


30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 09:49 AM   #6
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by 30 Closed Cab PU View Post
Here is an example of a Water Outlet you can purchase that makes mounting the probe easy.



Picture did not work, here is a link, second up from bottom of page



https://www.snydersantiqueauto.com/s...q=Water+outlet
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 10:58 AM   #7
Bud Man
Member
 
Bud Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Grapevine, Texas
Posts: 59
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

I just installed the APCO gauge and the outlet with the probe mount and it works very well.
Bud Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 12:30 PM   #8
Davew
Member
 
Davew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 92
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

I have found a lot of gauges do not read correctly. Check the gauge with a pan of hot water and a digital temp or regular gauge that you use for cooking. You may find a difference.
Davew is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 05:08 PM   #9
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,421
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

If you test the guage as outlined above and it doesn't show a reading, maybe you have cracked the tube running from the probe to the guage. If that has happened, go and buy a new one and be careful with it.
__________________
Life's journey is best undertaken slowly.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 06:59 PM   #10
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,140
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

This is one in action.

Charlie Stephens
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_7358.jpg (42.0 KB, 132 views)

Last edited by Charlie Stephens; 12-30-2018 at 07:06 PM.
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 09:39 PM   #11
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,421
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Stephens View Post
This is one in action.

Charlie Stephens
For the life of me I can't uinderstand why they put the probe in the side of the neck where it makes access to the head stud difficult. I've always thought that was nearly the dumbest thing I have seen.
__________________
Life's journey is best undertaken slowly.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 10:33 PM   #12
noboD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 222
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Put it in the top radiator hose. It can be done with simple pipe fittings.
noboD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 12:18 AM   #13
Chris Haynes
Senior Member
 
Chris Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Hills, CA and Pine Grove, CA
Posts: 2,351
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

https://www.snydersantiqueauto.com/drilled-water-outlet
__________________
1921 Runabout
1930 Tudor
Early 1930 AA
Speed costs money. How fast do you want to go?
Chris Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 12:44 AM   #14
jw hash
Senior Member
 
jw hash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn Washington
Posts: 2,102
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

I used a motor meter for years. and it worked ok in the day light, on the long trip this year and running in temperatures of 112 f out side. Model A`s do not like pulling long hills. she got hot a few times, so when we got back home I put a temp gauge in the 160A and I will run with a gauge from now on.
jw hash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 08:50 AM   #15
monto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: NH
Posts: 170
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by noboD View Post
Put it in the top radiator hose. It can be done with simple pipe fittings.
Have installed as above in two A's --- Simple;- works perfect..
__________________
'30 Coupe
monto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 09:19 AM   #16
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by monto View Post
Have installed as above in two A's --- Simple;- works perfect..

Have not heard/seen this. Can you post a picture?
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 02:50 PM   #17
Fred K-OR
Senior Member
 
Fred K-OR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Stayton, Oregon
Posts: 3,792
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Know this does not answer the question, but old Henry said something like this: "if it boils over, you know it is hot. Don't need a gauge"
__________________
Fred Kroon
1929 Std Coupe
1929 Huckster
Fred K-OR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 03:14 PM   #18
monto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: NH
Posts: 170
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by 30 Closed Cab PU View Post
Have not heard/seen this. Can you post a picture?
Never posted an attachment: first try !
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0059.jpg (48.1 KB, 121 views)
__________________
'30 Coupe
monto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 04:36 PM   #19
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by monto View Post
Never posted an attachment: first try !


Thanks, I like that. Saves some greenbacks if you or someone you know has the tools for drilling and tapping the hole. Had not thought of this, was warned not to try modifying my existing outlet neck Too thin and they can crack or break.
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 06:53 PM   #20
AL in NY
Senior Member
 
AL in NY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Upstate New York
Posts: 864
Default Re: Water Temperature Gauge

Everyone is putting up posts for "James A" about his problem and he hasn't even checked back to see the results. I guess he's real busy.

__________________
AL in NY
AL in NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.