Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2018, 04:27 PM   #1
Woodie1
Senior Member
 
Woodie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: W. Mich.
Posts: 239
Default Ignition switch

We have a Tudor that decided to not get us home today. I recently put in a modern upper distributor plate with the condenser on it. I'm suspecting the ignition switch is faulty but I'm wondering if anyone has used a jumper on the new upper plate. With the key on & points open, I can't get a spark from the movable arm to the upper plate. Pulling a plug connector also shows no spark when cranking. Just wondering if the new style plate can be jumpered. Thanks.
Woodie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 04:57 PM   #2
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 5,129
Default Re: Ignition switch

I don't see why it can't be jumped, but, it might not help. I'm one of the few that has no problem using the modern plate as long as it isn't the wireless version. They appear to have their issues. If you jumper the upper plate to the housing do you get power to the points ? If you remove the distributor cable from the distributor housing do you have power at the end terminal ? If so, the switch isn't the problem.
Patrick L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-18-2018, 05:10 PM   #3
Woodie1
Senior Member
 
Woodie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: W. Mich.
Posts: 239
Default Re: Ignition switch

I will check that shortly.
Woodie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 06:06 PM   #4
Woodie1
Senior Member
 
Woodie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: W. Mich.
Posts: 239
Default Re: Ignition switch

I have nothing at the end of the cable & now it blows my fuse. Looks like cable.
Woodie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 07:53 PM   #5
Woodie1
Senior Member
 
Woodie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: W. Mich.
Posts: 239
Default Re: Ignition switch

I did get the car to start but now the fuse blows if I try the lights. It will let the horn blow when the engine is running but I see no movement on the ammeter. It sits on zero.
Woodie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 10:10 PM   #6
Drive Shaft Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New hope Minnesota
Posts: 734
Default Re: Ignition switch

Disconnect the light and horn wire from the cut out then try it, you most likely have socket grounded .
Drive Shaft Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 09:03 AM   #7
larrys40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: St Charles , Missouri
Posts: 1,678
Default Re: Ignition switch

Check your voltages from starter at the fuse and see what that is, then both terminal Box lugs, should be same voltage. If different you have a bad connection at the terminal box or ammeter. Switch off you should have same voltage st both coil terminals.

With switch on and points open you should have 6 volts at moveable point arm.
If not you have a switch issue or possible short in distributor. As was said make sure you do NOT use a wireless plate . They cause more issues than they solve. If you have a popout temwmber when the switch his pushed in the points are grounded with the cable. If it’s not a pop out you are only switching the hot lead on and off.
Of course you need to use a multimeter to check and find the issue. Should be pretty quick to pinpoint.

Larry Shepard
larrys40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 09:35 AM   #8
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 5,129
Default Re: Ignition switch

Which distributor cable are you using ? Just curious. Either way, it sounds as though there is an insulation problem. Over the years the insulation can go bad allowing for a ground/short to the outside housing.
Patrick L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 03:46 PM   #9
MAG
Senior Member
 
MAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 750
Default Re: Ignition switch

A internal short in the distributor cable will create a circuit that turns the coil ON continually. It will cause the coil to heat up and will prevent the engine from starting.
Should not blow a 20 amp fuse. ASSUMING the system is wired as original.
__________________
I noticed the harder I work the luckier I get!
MAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.