Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2013, 05:08 PM   #1
jbc
Senior Member
 
jbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 160
Default Thermostat -= Yes or No

I just had my radiator rodded out and I plan on replacing both the hoses. my question-should I continue run a thermostat. I have one in my old hose now, but sometimes it over heats on hills? Not many hills here in Florida, but last year in Tennessee, it was a little hilly.
jbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 05:22 PM   #2
TinCup
Senior Member
 
TinCup's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: OKC / Tonkawa, Ok.
Posts: 1,957
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

You know here in Oklahoma I run one during the winter months just to help bring the car up to temp. If I don't the car never runs over 140 and sometimes when it is really cold not even that. It causes for unburned condensation to build up. I can't see where you would need one in FL.
__________________
Sooner Model A Club of Oklahoma
TinCup is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-09-2013, 05:31 PM   #3
msmaron
Senior Member
 
msmaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wauconda, IL
Posts: 3,470
Send a message via AIM to msmaron
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

yes
__________________
Mark Maron
Ill., Region MARC & MAFCA
27A's, MARC JSC Member
MARC Dearborn 2019 Meet Chairman
National Facebook Admin.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/MARC.group/

A7191-Sport Coupe
29 Roadster
29-Town Sedan
msmaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 05:40 PM   #4
tudoor
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 62
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

yes
tudoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 05:41 PM   #5
1931 flamingo
Senior Member
 
1931 flamingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: new britain,ct 06052
Posts: 7,881
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

There must have been a reason you had it rodded out, yes? Overheating? The t/stat, unless stuck had nothing to do with the overheating, as the others have said, re-install it. JMO
Paul in CT
1931 flamingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 05:54 PM   #6
Mitch//pa
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 11,454
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

yes
Mitch//pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 06:03 PM   #7
steve s
Senior Member
 
steve s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,636
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

yes
steve s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 06:04 PM   #8
green30coupe
Senior Member
 
green30coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Coastal Mississippi & Central West Florida
Posts: 206
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

Yes (40 miles from Ocala)
__________________
Ed
LAW OF MECHANICAL REPAIR
ONCE YOUR HANDS BECOME COVERED WITH GREASE,
YOUR NOSE WILL ITCH AND YOU'LL HAVE TO PEE

green30coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 06:18 PM   #9
ctlikon0712
Senior Member
 
ctlikon0712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cocoa, Florida
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

Yes, Cocoa, Fl. You don't need one but the engine runs better with it.
__________________
Wanted: Simmons Super Power Head
Craig Likon 1931 150B
ctlikon0712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:07 PM   #10
Special Coupe Frank
Senior Member
 
Special Coupe Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northeast Penna
Posts: 2,108
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctlikon0712 View Post
Yes, Cocoa, Fl. You don't need one but the engine runs better with it.

And the engine will last longer with one...

Packard and Cadillac started using them in 1915-16.
Special Coupe Frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 07:20 PM   #11
160B
Senior Member
 
160B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Posts: 1,360
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

Yes!!!


A thermostat allows the engine to heat up to operating temperature faster, and keeps the engine at a more constant temperature!!
__________________
1931 160B & 1931 68B

If you don't have time to do it right the 1st time, how do you have time to do it the 2nd time?
160B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 07:30 PM   #12
jbc
Senior Member
 
jbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 160
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

Thanks everyone, I'll put in a new one.
jbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 08:03 PM   #13
steve s
Senior Member
 
steve s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,636
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

Make sure that it has a 1/8 inch bypass hole drilled in the flange, so there is enough flow to allow the stat to sense the coolant temp and to prevent localized hot spotting in the head during warmup.

Some of us drill two bypass holes, just to be sure. Slows warmup somewhat but if you've ever seen explosive vaporization, you won't mind.

Steve
steve s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 12:02 AM   #14
Jordan
Senior Member
 
Jordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ft. Worth
Posts: 904
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve s View Post
Make sure that it has a 1/8 inch bypass hole drilled in the flange, so there is enough flow to allow the stat to sense the coolant temp and to prevent localized hot spotting in the head during warmup.

Some of us drill two bypass holes, just to be sure. Slows warmup somewhat but if you've ever seen explosive vaporization, you won't mind.

Steve
Some of us drill 3
__________________
Cowtown A's
Jordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 08:07 PM   #15
whirnot
Senior Member
 
whirnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bend Or.
Posts: 782
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbc View Post
I just had my radiator rodded out and I plan on replacing both the hoses. my question-should I continue run a thermostat. I have one in my old hose now, but sometimes it over heats on hills? Not many hills here in Florida, but last year in Tennessee, it was a little hilly.
I'm not real experienced in Model A's but am in industrial ventilation. If you take that stone guard off in front of the radiator I bet it won't overheat anymore. Yes air does go through it, but just imagine moving all the wires in that stone guard to the center, and see how much surface you have blocked.
__________________
Bill Worden

1929 Roadster
1929 Briggs Town Sedan
1930 Closed Cab pickup
1951 Ford F1

High Desert Model A's
whirnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 12:48 PM   #16
roccaas
Senior Member
 
roccaas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,299
Default Re: Thermostat -= Yes or No

I ran one in my Cabriolet one Winter, and it was great on drive ability and warm up.

The first hot South Georgia day, the temp gauge rose alarmingly, so I pulled it out, no more problems. Mine does have the bypass hole, and perhaps it didn't open correctly, but in this heat and humidity (and Stone Guard) I'd rather rely on more water flowing unimpeded.

With Global Warming, I doubt I'll ever put it back in.
__________________
20 years ago we had Johnny Cash, Steve Jobs, and Bob Hope. Now we have no Cash, no Jobs, and no Hope...please don't let Kevin Bacon die!
roccaas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.