Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2013, 08:15 AM   #1
36tbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: nw SanAntonio, TX
Posts: 940
Default 1937 block with '36 heads

I just acquired a '37 block, at least that is what the PO says it is and it is a 21 stud. I only got one head with it. Doing the search here, I see that I could block off the lower water outlets and install the '35/'36 lower ports with '35/'36 heads. But, I was wondering, could you like wise run the later style lower pumps and remove the pumps from a '35/'36 head and make new head outlets so the configuration would be like an 8BA? I ask because I have extra '35/'36 heads and maybe it will be tough to find another '37 head.
36tbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 08:48 AM   #2
DavidG
Senior Member
 
DavidG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,071
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

'37 cylinder heads are not a particular challenge to find.
DavidG is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-31-2013, 09:45 AM   #3
JM 35 Sedan
Senior Member
 
JM 35 Sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Near Rising Sun, Maryland
Posts: 10,139
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

I am thinking coolant flow/engine cooling would be best with pumps in block and '37 cast iron heads with center outlets. If this engine is going in a '35-'36 passenger car with stock radiator inlets, there is a NAPA/Gates one piece top hose available that fits perfectly.
__________________
John

"Never give up on what you really want to do. The person with big dreams is more powerful than one with all the facts". Albert Einstein
JM 35 Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:58 AM   #4
Brendan
Senior Member
 
Brendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: At my kitchen table in Santa Rosa, Ca
Posts: 2,773
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

How about running four water pumps...LOL
__________________
If it would have been a snake it would have bit ya!

i can't spell my way out of a paper bag!
Brendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 10:29 AM   #5
Yoyodyne
Senior Member
 
Yoyodyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lancaster PA
Posts: 372
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

I have good 37 heads if you need them.
Yoyodyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:05 AM   #6
flatjack9
Senior Member
 
flatjack9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oshkosh, Wi
Posts: 3,789
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
I wouldn't see a problem running like you suggested. I would look at the water holes in an 8Ba engine as a guide for what size holes that setup might require. Ypu could open up or block off holes accordingly to help optimize flow.
flatjack9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 01:19 PM   #7
36tbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: nw SanAntonio, TX
Posts: 940
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

Thanks all for the suggestions. YoYo, when I confirm that this is a good block, I may be in contact with you.

I have no plans for the thing. I would like to have a 21 stud just for something different but do not have a car for it to go in right now.

The PO said he got it out of a Ford Dealership and it looks great, except for the long time dirt, grime and surface rust. There is no ridge at all on the cylinders so maybe it is a replacement engine.
36tbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 02:19 PM   #8
ken ct
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: stratford,ct
Posts: 5,971
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

From what ive heard 37 heads fit both sides NO rt+lft to them ??? ken ct.
ken ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 02:33 PM   #9
Gary Tosel
Senior Member
 
Gary Tosel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 660
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

Talk about 4 water pumps. I did not make this title quote.

Last edited by Gary Tosel; 11-02-2018 at 07:41 PM.
Gary Tosel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 02:41 PM   #10
Brendan
Senior Member
 
Brendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: At my kitchen table in Santa Rosa, Ca
Posts: 2,773
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Tosel View Post
Talk about 4 water pumps. I did not make this title quote.

would that work?
__________________
If it would have been a snake it would have bit ya!

i can't spell my way out of a paper bag!
Brendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 03:11 PM   #11
Walt Dupont--Me.
Senior Member
 
Walt Dupont--Me.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gardiner Me.
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Tosel View Post
Talk about 4 water pumps. I did not make this title quote.
I'm going to make one of those 4 pumpers to put in my liveing, I think thats coooool. Walt
Walt Dupont--Me. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 03:20 PM   #12
DavidG
Senior Member
 
DavidG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,071
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

Ken,

In theory that's correct that the right and left heads are interchangeable, but in actual practice, some '37 heads do not have the hole (just the boss) for the water temperature probe and should only be used on the right side.
DavidG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 04:29 PM   #13
36tbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: nw SanAntonio, TX
Posts: 940
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

We're treading on dangerous ground here talking about w. p.'s.
36tbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:57 PM   #14
Dave D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 281
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

I have one NOS 37 aluminum head if you need it.
Dave D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 12:14 AM   #15
G.M.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida and Penna.
Posts: 4,372
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

We did this for Skips 34 P/U since he's the "water pump man". We didn't notice much if any cooling improvement. We call it the "Polish tank" engine. G.M.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg POLISH TANK ENGINE.jpg (51.8 KB, 12 views)
__________________
www.fordcollector.com
G.M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 07:32 AM   #16
36tbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: nw SanAntonio, TX
Posts: 940
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

Wow, Dave, would love the look of an aluminum head. Like I said, once I know that the block is a good one, I'll see about acquiring the parts required for it. It came with the crank and valve system installed. So, if it winds up being something I build, I will have to get some rods. Not sure when I will get around to checking it out.

I have the Speedway pressure test set up. Will the 24 stud plates fit the 21 just leaving some blank holes? Might have to go digging through my junk to test that.
36tbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 07:45 AM   #17
31chevy
Senior Member
 
31chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lake City Mi.
Posts: 807
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

Here is a 37 block with 34 heads & block off plates same as 35 & 36 heads I believe, main advantage is radiator hose's fit like original.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 34 back together 009.jpg (67.3 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg 34 back together 007.jpg (94.8 KB, 30 views)
31chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:53 AM   #18
BrianCT
Senior Member
 
BrianCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Windham, CT
Posts: 693
Default Re: 1937 block with '36 heads

Don't forget that most of the early heads are for flat top pistons.
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS]
BrianCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.