Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-13-2013, 06:46 PM   #1
Johnnyj

Default Start engine after 20 years sitting

I'm am hoping to start engine in a 47 1/2 ton that I purchased a few month back.
With help of the forum I thing I have a water leak solve where I found a leak from header just above the starter.
I was told bottom of engine was overhauled years ago, but not run since.
They put MMO in engine at that time since owner knew it would be sitting a while.
My plan was to leave the MMO in , remove plugs and see if engine cranks and if I get oil pressure reading. Would it be better to change the MMO to 20/40 and then try to crank? I will also prime the carb.......is there anything else I need to look at first?
I'm new at this, so I'd appreciated any advice.
Many thanks
Johnnyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:58 PM   #2
NealinCA

Default Re: Start engine after 20 years sitting

I just fired up a flathead that had been sitting about 15 years, so I will share my experience.