Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2019, 12:22 PM   #1
Paul Bjarnason
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 113
Default Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

I have just installed the entire drive train in my '29 Tudor, including my new Mitchell transmission. Then, unfortunately, I just noticed that Mitchell sent me a gasket which is supposed to go between the transmission and the bell housing. I didn't see anything about a gasket in that spot, in my Les Andrews manual and in all the years of working on other kinds of cars I do not recall ever having put a gasket between the transmission and the bell housing. Does anyone think there could be a bad result (like leakage) if I don't go back and install that gasket? If I had to do that, probably the easiest thing would be to pull the motor. I don't think a gasket is necessary, but I would like other opinions. Thanks.
Paul Bjarnason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 02:03 PM   #2
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,089
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

It is my understanding from reading that there will be an oil leak at the back of the cam without the gasket. I have never tried it to find out. Did you also leave out the U shaped shims on the top two bolts of the flywheel housing?

Charlie Stephens

EDIT. Please ignore answer. I read too fast and thought you were asking about between the flywheel housing and block.

Last edited by Charlie Stephens; 08-04-2019 at 03:40 PM.
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-04-2019, 02:21 PM   #3
redmodelt
Senior Member
 
redmodelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 4,467
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

deleated
__________________
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas!

Last edited by redmodelt; 08-04-2019 at 02:57 PM.
redmodelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 02:27 PM   #4
Chuck Sea/Tac
Senior Member
 
Chuck Sea/Tac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Between Seattle & Tacoma
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

He said between the bell housing and transmission. Not engine and fly housing.
Call Mitchell, since they sent the gasket.
Chuck Sea/Tac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 02:30 PM   #5
1955cj5
Senior Member
 
1955cj5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,423
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

Show a picture....be clear, do you mean engine and flywheel housing or between clutch housing and transmission...???

The picture shows the back of the engine where the flywheel housing attaches..a gasket is needed here.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2015_0814modelajeep1549.jpg (53.8 KB, 46 views)
__________________
Early '29 CCPU that had a 4-speed, but not any more.......in the family since '62
1955cj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 02:55 PM   #6
Kentmac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Manchester, Mich
Posts: 24
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

What is the purpose of the two u shaped shims?
Kentmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 03:11 PM   #7
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,369
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kentmac View Post
What is the purpose of the two u shaped shims?

To make up for the thickness of the gasket between the engine and flywheel housing.


Bob
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 03:26 PM   #8
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,369
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

Looks like there is a gasket between the trans and bell housing, A-7620.


Bob
Attached Images
File Type: jpg A7153-600x800.jpg (13.5 KB, 11 views)
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 03:45 PM   #9
Paul Bjarnason
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 113
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

OK, I will call Mitchell. Thanks.
Paul Bjarnason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 03:46 PM   #10
Paul Bjarnason
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 113
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

Yes, it's the gasket on the far right. I was unable to upload a picture of my gasket, but the one on the right is it. I'm talking about Bob C's picture of several gaskets.

Last edited by Paul Bjarnason; 08-04-2019 at 03:47 PM. Reason: added sentence
Paul Bjarnason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 04:02 PM   #11
whirnot
Senior Member
 
whirnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bend Or.
Posts: 868
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

Personally I don't think I would be too concerned. When you talk to Steve Mitchell, he is going to recommend you cut off the top of the gasket, that contacts the shift tower anyway. He likes the shift tower as far forward as possible.
__________________
Bill Worden

1929 Roadster
1929 Briggs Town Sedan
1930 Closed Cab pickup
1951 Ford F1

High Desert Model A's
whirnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 05:05 PM   #12
ryanheacox
Senior Member
 
ryanheacox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northwest CT
Posts: 544
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

I wouldn’t worry too much either. All that gasket is going to do is try to stop oil leaks from the cluster shaft. You may get a drip or two without the gasket but then most A’s have a few drips here and there.

All of that is for the stock transmission, I’m not sure if this applies to a Mitchell transmission.
ryanheacox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 08:39 PM   #13
Paul Bjarnason
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Annandale, VA
Posts: 113
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

Thanks to all for your replies. I will cut off the top of the gasket for when I install the shift tower. Best. Bj
Paul Bjarnason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 09:31 PM   #14
whirnot
Senior Member
 
whirnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bend Or.
Posts: 868
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Bjarnason View Post
Thanks to all for your replies. I will cut off the top of the gasket for when I install the shift tower. Best. Bj
Don't put the top piece in next to the shift tower. As I mentioned, Mitchell recommends you install the gasket, but remove the piece by the shift tower. That is to get the shift tower more forward.
__________________
Bill Worden

1929 Roadster
1929 Briggs Town Sedan
1930 Closed Cab pickup
1951 Ford F1

High Desert Model A's
whirnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 08:17 AM   #15
jhowes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 739
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

As I read this I assume that you are cutting off the trop of a gasket to position the shift tower more forward. How can the thickness of a gasket be enough to even notice in a forward movement of the shift tower? Jack
jhowes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 10:29 AM   #16
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,397
Default Re: Is a gasket needed between transmission and bell housing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhowes View Post
As I read this I assume that you are cutting off the trop of a gasket to position the shift tower more forward. How can the thickness of a gasket be enough to even notice in a forward movement of the shift tower? Jack
I was wondering the same thing, and never heard of doing this before.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.