Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2019, 07:54 AM   #21
Steve Kennedy
Senior Member
 
Steve Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 201
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Anyone have a tach along with their 4.11 and Mitchell? I was in a friend's '36 with a 411 and his Columbia, it still sounded like it needed another gear at 60 mph and was running around 3000 rpm. I have a 3.54 in my '36 and even with that run around 2800 rpm at 60 and it sounds like it needs another gear. A Columbia would be nice but everyone tells me it will lug the engine.
Steve Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 01:21 PM   #22
frank d kirkstad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Little Silver, New Jersey
Posts: 14
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Thank You Kevin I'll keep that in mind.
A columbia my first choice, is hard to find and then it has to what they call "bullet proofed"
If my floors weren't original and replaced at one time,then I would't mined cutting.
I drove a 51 with O/D in high school so I know what Sam means,and it was 12 yrs old.
Maybe I'll just stay the coarse,I'm 74 and we senior citizens are always accused of driving to slow anyway.
frank d kirkstad is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-31-2019, 03:17 PM   #23
glennpm
Senior Member
 
glennpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wiscasset, Maine
Posts: 695
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Hi Jim,


I'm with you on this but I do know that Columbia 2-Speeds get pricey. T5's, Mitchell's, etc. kind of go away from keeping things mostly stock Unless mods have already been done to the car.



Quote:
Originally Posted by jimTN View Post
Go with a Columbia and avoid having to butcher up your car. Columbia set ups were made and engineered for Fords.
glennpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 04:12 PM   #24
95476
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 213
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

I have a Columbia in my 3-W coupe and a Mitchell in my 1/2 ton P/U.
I actually like the Mitchell better. Both are great but I prefer the Mitchell.
They both do the same thing.
95476 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 12:56 PM   #25
supereal
Senior Member
 
supereal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,335
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Using a cable to shift an overdrive is fairly simple. The only adaptation is making a clamp for the cable sheath at the overdrive. I push the knob to shift into OD, and pull it to go back. My OD is mounted directly to the rear axle, and since it moves with the springs, a cable avoids moving a lever mounted to the body
supereal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 01:36 PM   #26
drolston
Senior Member
 
drolston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 879
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

My '41 came with 3.78 gears and I was just not happy with the rpm and racket needed to keep up with Interstate traffic. Considered Columbia and Mitchell but ended up changing the rear end to 3.25 ratio. I am very pleased with performance cruising and in traffic. That is a little tall for a stock engine, but if you have a 4" or better stroke and a a stock or mild street cam, there is plenty of torque for low speed maneuvering and starting off on hills. With room, strength, patience, and reference materials, you can do it yourself. I was short on all of that, so I had Walker Smith hot rod shop do the gear change for me. It must be done precisely, and experience in this job is very beneficial to get it right the first time. The gears and gaskets are $400 from Van Pelt, and the shop should be under $1,000. Good luck with whatever route you take.
drolston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 02:00 AM   #27
Conrad#Hamburg
Junior Member
 
Conrad#Hamburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Hello from Germany,
this is my first post here…

I have a 36 Cabriolet with 4.11 rear, 39 gear box and a french flathead.
Without the Mitchell I was not able to drive more than 50 miles an hour.

Now 65 miles are fine, although I do not have a tach connected.

I bought it from Macs, and they said that we did not have to cut the floor.
But it had to.

By the way, I did not do it on my own, it was a shop here in Germany.

Greeting
Conrad
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190607_104336.jpg (67.2 KB, 86 views)
File Type: jpg 20190607_104143.jpg (64.9 KB, 85 views)
File Type: jpg 20190708_160826.jpg (45.5 KB, 87 views)
Conrad#Hamburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 04:36 AM   #28
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 4,947
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

That is a professional looking installation. I'm kind of surprised about the 50 mph maximum with the 4.11's; they are low, but I had a '36 3-window with a 276" Merc, a '39 box, and 4.11's, and it would do a lot more than that.

Glad you like the Mitchell, though.

Welcome to the "Barn".
tubman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 06:45 AM   #29
Conrad#Hamburg
Junior Member
 
Conrad#Hamburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Hey Tubman,
the engine could go more, but i was too afraid to try ;-)
Conrad#Hamburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 07:45 AM   #30
Kerk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

I was going to go with a Coumbia and have the parts but at this point I do not think I will get to it. Age & health changes things ! kx
Kerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 11:30 AM   #31
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 4,947
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Hey Conrad, If the reason you do not have a tachometer connected is because your car is still 6 volt positive ground, I make a solution : https://www.ebay.com/itm/6-volt-to-1...r/233307790645.
tubman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 11:39 AM   #32
oldford2
Senior Member
 
oldford2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: pittsfield, MA
Posts: 1,936
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Westach makes a 6 volt tach. Very reasonable and a cinch to hook up.
John
oldford2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 02:18 PM   #33
donald1950
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: san antonio, texas
Posts: 418
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

https://www.snydersantiqueauto.com/P...model-a/gauges
donald1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 05:00 PM   #34
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 4,947
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldford2 View Post
Westach makes a 6 volt tach. Very reasonable and a cinch to hook up.
John
Expensive and very "agricultural" looking.
tubman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 12:52 AM   #35
Conrad#Hamburg
Junior Member
 
Conrad#Hamburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Thank you guys, I already converted to 12Volt.

I think I will buy a cheap tach just to check the rpm
and then disconnect it.
Conrad#Hamburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 01:35 AM   #36
Lawrie
Senior Member
 
Lawrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 3,243
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Our 33, when it had the 4.11 gears and the stock 33 babbit engine would run up to 75 mph as smooth as silk
Lawrie
Lawrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 06:26 AM   #37
Pete pa
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: allison park pa
Posts: 45
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

I have 411 rear in my 40 coupe with a Columbia 2 speed, in direct drive the tach is reading 2950 rpm at 60 mph. In overdrive it reads 2000 rpm if that helps anyone.
Pete pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 07:55 PM   #38
Ford Freak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pittsford NY. USA
Posts: 692
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete pa View Post
I have 411 rear in my 40 coupe with a Columbia 2 speed, in direct drive the tach is reading 2950 rpm at 60 mph. In overdrive it reads 2000 rpm if that helps anyone.
Hey Pete ! How tall are the rear tires you are running ? Thanks in advance - F F
Ford Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 04:21 PM   #39
Kerk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Someone from Middle of the country sent me an email and I am not able to reply ! Computer problem or ME Sent him a reply and told him I am from ma and National V 8 Club member and in the roster .. He can try again if he wants. Not going to Hershey for the first time in Many many years. but maybe someome could arrange transportation if it is the problem. kerk i
Kerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:39 PM   #40
Pete pa
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: allison park pa
Posts: 45
Default Re: Mitchell Overdrive

Ford Freak, I'm running 235/75/15 American Classic 28.80 inches.
Pete pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.