Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2018, 01:16 AM   #1
Pandersen33
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 11
Default Wiring help

Had a small fire today as a result of what appears to be a jammed brake light switch. Snowballed into the alternator wire and up into the terminal. Anyways i was trying to figure how how to prevent this in the future. Specifically if anyone has had luck using in-line fuses and if so what size? So far it looks like i’ll just be needing some new wires and a brake switch. Thankfully i had JUST put the fire extinguisher in the back of the car!
Pandersen33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 01:33 AM   #2
midgetracer
Senior Member
 
midgetracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bismarck ND
Posts: 880
Default Re: Wiring help

I like the safety fuse that mounts on the starter. It usually has a 20 or 25 amp fuse and is a fail safe when you have a short that might burn the car up. I know some don't like it, but for about $10 it provides a way to keep the wiring from burning up the car in a dead short situation.
midgetracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-08-2018, 01:55 AM   #3
31 Vicky
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 90
Default Re: Wiring help

And install the A&L brake light switch.
The other available switch can fail by shorting to ground!

A's Always Dave
31 Vicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 03:26 AM   #4
Y-Blockhead
Senior Member
 
Y-Blockhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 3,853
Default Re: Wiring help

Quote:
Originally Posted by midgetracer View Post
I like the safety fuse that mounts on the starter. It usually has a 20 or 25 amp fuse and is a fail safe when you have a short that might burn the car up. I know some don't like it, but for about $10 it provides a way to keep the wiring from burning up the car in a dead short situation.
Our club just had the second wiring fire this year. I have given several of the safety fuses away at our monthly meetings... People just don't get it.

I run a 30a circuit breaker for my main fuse and a 20a on the lighting circuit.
__________________
Y-Blockhead
'30 Briggs Town Sedan
'55 Ford Ranchwagon
_________________________________
And once again that is just my 1˘ worth.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aH2TvmjxIFM
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 03:26 AM   #5
Y-Blockhead
Senior Member
 
Y-Blockhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 3,853
Default Re: Wiring help

Duplicate post...
__________________
Y-Blockhead
'30 Briggs Town Sedan
'55 Ford Ranchwagon
_________________________________
And once again that is just my 1˘ worth.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aH2TvmjxIFM
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 04:36 AM   #6
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,296
Default Re: Wiring help

Does the fuse on the starter cut power to the ignition if it blows? If it does, I'm not in favour. It's not hard to imagine a dangerous situation quickly arising if it were to blow on a busy road and the motor goes dead. I believe the ignition should not be fused but all else (except the starter!!), yes.
__________________
Nobody told me rigor could start while I'm still alive.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 10:03 AM   #7
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,975
Default Re: Wiring help

Quote:
I run a 30a circuit breaker for my main fuse and a 20a on the lighting circuit.
Ditto
__________________
Don't go away mad, just go away.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 10:43 AM   #8
Ed Wendell
Senior Member
 
Ed Wendell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 134
Default Re: Wiring help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synchro909 View Post
Does the fuse on the starter cut power to the ignition if it blows? If it does, I'm not in favour. It's not hard to imagine a dangerous situation quickly arising if it were to blow on a busy road and the motor goes dead. I believe the ignition should not be fused but all else (except the starter!!), yes.
If I had an electrical fire on any road, busy or not, the motor stopping is the last thing I would worry about.
I use the fuse mounted to the starter. I park our car in a cargo container and want to make sure everything is dead so I installed a battery disconnect switch.
Ed
Ed Wendell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 11:14 AM   #9
Pandersen33
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 11
Default Re: Wiring help

How are you isolating the lighting wiring from the main? Im assuming the 30a fuse is the safety fuse setup on the starter.
Pandersen33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 11:24 AM   #10
cpf240
Senior Member
 
cpf240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Northern Idaho
Posts: 265
Default Re: Wiring help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandersen33 View Post
How are you isolating the lighting wiring from the main? Im assuming the 30a fuse is the safety fuse setup on the starter.
Probably a fuse at the generator cutout where the lights and horn get their power.
cpf240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 01:10 PM   #11
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 431
Default Re: Wiring help

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpf240 View Post
Probably a fuse at the generator cutout where the lights and horn get their power.
A 20A fuse at the cutout to the lighting switch and horn will open those circuits if a short occurs. The fuse mounted on the starter is intended to prevent the battery from discharging into the generator field through a shorted cutout after the engine is shut off. if either or both fuses open during operation, the ignition will still be powered from the generator.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 02:39 PM   #12
Roadster62
Senior Member
 
Roadster62's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ridgefield, Ct
Posts: 3,398
Default Re: Wiring help

That is the impossible thing about understand electricity, nobody explains things the same way. Bob
__________________
They don't have to run to be enjoyed. I'm here to enjoy the hobby, and enjoy the cars no matter what they look like. Most of the worlds problems are electrical.
Roadster62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 05:50 PM   #13
Y-Blockhead
Senior Member
 
Y-Blockhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 3,853
Default Re: Wiring help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandersen33 View Post
How are you isolating the lighting wiring from the main? Im assuming the 30a fuse is the safety fuse setup on the starter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpf240 View Post
Probably a fuse at the generator cutout where the lights and horn get their power.
That is correct. The wire coming off the alternator to the lights/horn is fused with a 20a circuit breaker. The circuit breaker is "hidden in the frame rail by the alternator.

__________________
Y-Blockhead
'30 Briggs Town Sedan
'55 Ford Ranchwagon
_________________________________
And once again that is just my 1˘ worth.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aH2TvmjxIFM
Y-Blockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 10:23 PM   #14
dansluck
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Nevada
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to dansluck Send a message via Yahoo to dansluck
Default Re: Wiring help

I have 30 amp at starter and 20 amp at cut-out. Thanks Pandersen there has been some great responses.
dansluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 10:12 AM   #15
DHZIEMAN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sunrise Beach, Mo
Posts: 343
Default Re: Wiring help

The Model A I purchased had a short in the headlight circuit. Burnt up low beam wiring. Replaced it and then,
I installed a fuse block and 30A Fuse at the starter. Works fine!
Also double checked all wiring to make sure all was working and properly wired.
DHZIEMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 10:32 AM   #16
Jacksonlll
Senior Member
 
Jacksonlll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan-- Member of Oakleaf of MARC
Posts: 1,181
Send a message via ICQ to Jacksonlll
Default Re: Wiring help

I always put an inline fuse in the brake lite switch because if there is a problem, it is a long way under the car to get at it on the road.
Jacksonlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 11:05 AM   #17
ArtimusGordon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Posts: 22
Default Re: Wiring help

I use a 30 amp ckt breaker on the starter and I also installed a battery cutoff switch in front of the drivers seat. I also lost my coupe to a wiring fire a couple of years ago. (You can search for pictures on a previous post ( search “ SAD DAY” ) .
ArtimusGordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 11:14 AM   #18
ArtimusGordon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Posts: 22
Default Re: Wiring help

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtimusGordon View Post
I use a 30 amp ckt breaker on the starter and I also installed a battery cutoff switch in front of the drivers seat. I also lost my coupe to a wiring fire a couple of years ago. (You can search for pictures on a previous post ( search “ SAD DAY” ) .
Try in search “fire”. Scroll down to “Sad day” for pictures of my totaled Coupe. 😠
ArtimusGordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2018, 04:47 PM   #19
TJMack
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Venice, Fl and Marcy, NY
Posts: 66
Default Re: Wiring help

I had a couple issues with my brake light switch when I first got my coupe. You might find this thread interesting. just paste it into your search bar. it will take you to the thread.


https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showt...e+light+switch
TJMack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 12:47 PM   #20
slammin
Senior Member
 
slammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Fruita, CO
Posts: 278
Default Re: Wiring help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Y-Blockhead View Post


I run a 30a circuit breaker for my main fuse and a 20a on the lighting circuit.
Even though all the wiring is new, I took the same approach. Plus I added a battery disconnect under the drivers seat. When I pull the car inside, I shut off the gas and throw the disconnect switch. Prior to adding the switch, I pulled the battery ground cable.
slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.