Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2020, 10:37 AM   #1
Conaway2
Senior Member
 
Conaway2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 245
Default Model A ammeter

Did original ammeters measure -20 to + 20 amps ? Iíve seen some that have a 30 amp range. Also, did original ammeters have the Ford script on them ?

Thanks - Jim
Conaway2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 10:41 AM   #2
johnbuckley
Senior Member
 
johnbuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: Model A ammeter

The picture in the service manual for Jan 1928 shows 20 discharge to 20 charge and no Ford script
johnbuckley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 04-28-2020, 10:48 AM   #3
johnbuckley
Senior Member
 
johnbuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: Model A ammeter

here's the pic .
Attached Files
File Type: pdf IMG_20200428_0001.pdf (1.04 MB, 89 views)
johnbuckley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 10:52 AM   #4
alexiskai
Senior Member
 
alexiskai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Mebane NC
Posts: 532
Default Re: Model A ammeter

My understanding is that the generators, as originally set up, should not put out more than 20 amps – if you were getting more than 20 amps you were doing it wrong. So Ī 20 amps was the original setup for the ammeter.
alexiskai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 10:55 AM   #5
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 5,814
Default Re: Model A ammeter

The meters were 20 amp. Can't tell you about the logo. These generators shouldn't really be set to put out more than about 12 amps. Many of the junk repro units are 30 amp.
Patrick L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 11:29 AM   #6
Conaway2
Senior Member
 
Conaway2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 245
Default Re: Model A ammeter

Thanks all. I’ve come across a very old ammeter - old enough to be original, but it has the -30 to + 30 scale on it, so I’ll assume it’s after-market unit.
Conaway2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 12:32 PM   #7
alexiskai
Senior Member
 
alexiskai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Mebane NC
Posts: 532
Default Re: Model A ammeter

Ammeters in later cars (before 1940) read up to 30 or 40, maybe it's designed for one of those, or for another marque.
alexiskai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 01:13 PM   #8
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,526
Default Re: Model A ammeter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conaway2 View Post
Did original ammeters measure -20 to + 20 amps ? Iíve seen some that have a 30 amp range. Also, did original ammeters have the Ford script on them ?

Thanks - Jim
How about a picture?

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 09:46 AM   #9
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 672
Default Re: Model A ammeter

The ammeter in the Model A measures battery charge, not generator output.

More than 20A charge means your battery is probably bad and your generator will soon expire, >20A discharge means the stock battery will be depleted very quickly, possible short somewhere.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2020, 09:01 AM   #10
BRENT in 10-uh-C
Senior Member
 
BRENT in 10-uh-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern Tennessee
Posts: 9,458
Default Re: Model A ammeter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Stephens View Post
How about a picture?

Charlie Stephens

Like this one??


.
.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg A-10860 Ammeter Dial Face2.jpg (74.7 KB, 71 views)
__________________
.

BRENT in 10-uh-C
.
www.model-a-ford.com
...(...Finally Updated!! )

.
BRENT in 10-uh-C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2020, 09:12 AM   #11
Ray in La Mesa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: La Mesa Ca
Posts: 837
Default Re: Model A ammeter

Model T ammeters had Ford script, A's did not.
Ray in La Mesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2020, 09:35 AM   #12
redmodelt
Senior Member
 
redmodelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,163
Default Re: Model A ammeter

The meters in any T or A I have worked on measure the generator output or draw not the battery voltage. If you did see the needle on the negative side with the engine not running, that would mean an draw somewhere such as short, lights on or cutout stuck. To read battery voltage you would need a volt meter hooked up different.
__________________
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas!
redmodelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2020, 10:29 AM   #13
BRENT in 10-uh-C
Senior Member
 
BRENT in 10-uh-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern Tennessee
Posts: 9,458
Default Re: Model A ammeter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badpuppy View Post
The ammeter in the Model A measures battery charge, not generator output.
Quote:
Originally Posted by redmodelt View Post
The meters in any T or A I have worked on measure the generator output or draw not the battery voltage. If you did see the needle on the negative side with the engine not running, that would mean an draw somewhere such as short, lights on or cutout stuck. To read battery voltage you would need a volt meter hooked up different.
Mark, I almost responded to this too but what I think his point is the needle is registering how much amperage the battery is (-or isn't) receiving. I think his point is that if the generator is set to charge the battery at 10 amps however the lights are drawing 8 amps, the ammeter is only going to show a rate of 2 amps going to the battery. Conversely, even if the generator is charging 10 amps however the lights are using 12 amps, the ammeter needle will show 2 amps discharge.

.
__________________
.

BRENT in 10-uh-C
.
www.model-a-ford.com
...(...Finally Updated!! )

.
BRENT in 10-uh-C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.