Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2013, 09:17 AM   #1
Fred Hanks
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 35
Default gas gauge

Jus installed new gas tank & gauge and 3+ - gallons gas and have no movement on gauge , how does one test the gauge ? this is a '49 F-1 6volt sys.
Fred Hanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 11:53 AM   #2
G.M.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida and Penna.
Posts: 4,363
Default Re: gas gauge

Put more gas in it, your about to run out??? G.M.
__________________
www.fordcollector.com
G.M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-07-2013, 12:27 PM   #3
Kube
Senior Member
 
Kube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,240
Default Re: gas gauge

If it's a new Drake sending unit, it is probably working like most of them ... very poorly.
__________________
"I can explain it for you. However, I can't understand it for you".
Kube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 12:50 PM   #4
Old Henry
Senior Member
 
Old Henry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 5,616
Default Re: gas gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.M. View Post
Put more gas in it, your about to run out??? G.M.
Like G.M. said, My gauge reads empty when I've still got 3 gallons in it . . . until the other day when I ran out of gas before the gauge even got to E.

The way to test and adjust the sender is with it out of the tank. You measure the depth of the tank to get the maximum distance the float can travel. Then, with the gauge out of the tank but hooked up to the gauge wire and ground, you move the float through its maximum range while watching the gauge. Be sure that the bottom limit that you move the float to is no further from the sender than the maximum distance it can move. Otherwise, you'll get a false reading, i.e. the float may have the ability to move further down than the bottom of the tank. If the gauge only reads empty way down there you'll run out of gas. The main accuracy to be concerned about, of course, is that the gauge reads empty well before the float gets to the bottom of the range just so you have a little "reserve." To adjust the sender some have the provision to slide the float bar one way or another to adjust it or you can just bend the float rod until you get the gauge to read the way you want.
__________________
Prof. Henry (The Roaming Gnome)
"It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end. *Ursula K. Le Guin in The Left Hand of Darkness
Old Henry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:16 PM   #5
Roger/Sacramento
Senior Member
 
Roger/Sacramento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PRINEVILLE, OR.
Posts: 467
Default Re: gas gauge

I have a '41 pickup with an original tank and gauge. The tank was treated with a por 15 kit and a Drake sending unit was installed per the directions. it registers accurate. I only put a couple of gallons in the first time and the gauge did not register because the float was stuck on the bottom. I filled the tank and the float broke loose and has been fine ever since.
__________________
KIM KARDASHIAN ISN'T FLAT, BUT MY MOTOR IS.....

http://s818.photobucket.com/home/roglehr/index
Roger/Sacramento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:54 PM   #6
46fordnut
Senior Member
 
46fordnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: new jersey
Posts: 228
Default Re: gas gauge

depends on what unit.. i used one for a 6 volt mercury...did not work . found was a bad power connection in sender, bent the little tab inside works fine now. i have a 1946 ford .
__________________
if rust were money i would be a billionaire!!
46fordnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:31 AM   #7
Fred Hanks
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 35
Default Re: gas gauge

How do I check to see if the gas gauge is ok???
Fred Hanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:39 AM   #8
Old Henry
Senior Member
 
Old Henry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 5,616
Default Re: gas gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Hanks View Post
How do I check to see if the gas gauge is ok???
You can ground the sender side of the gauge just momentarily and see if it goes to full. If so it's good but don't leave grounded too long or it could burn it out.
__________________
Prof. Henry (The Roaming Gnome)
"It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end. *Ursula K. Le Guin in The Left Hand of Darkness
Old Henry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 AM.