Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2018, 02:14 PM   #1
my4dv8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 904
Default Ignition switch relay

We are doing a full rewire on a v8 , and want to use the original column drop ignition switch and know these can be a little temperamental , would it be necessary to fit a hidden relay to take the load off this switch? Thanks .
my4dv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 02:23 PM   #2
Hyvolt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Warrenton Mo
Posts: 29
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

I used the original switch in my column drop. I did open it up and clean it up. But, I use it now to turn on a relay that Powers up my "run" portion of my fuse panel. Off of that panel are all my individual circuits for my guages, coil, fuel pump etc

Sent from my LG-LS993 using Tapatalk
Hyvolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-26-2018, 02:57 PM   #3
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,526
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

Quote:
Originally Posted by my4dv8 View Post
We are doing a full rewire on a v8 , and want to use the original column drop ignition switch and know these can be a little temperamental , would it be necessary to fit a hidden relay to take the load off this switch? Thanks .
I have never heard these switches were temperamental. If you are keeping the original wiring circuit and just going to 12 volts there shouldn't be a problem as a 12 volt system uses less current. What year is your car?

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 03:06 PM   #4
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 11,816
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

The OEM column ignition switch only powered the gauges and coil so it didn't have much current flow through it. If a person is going to add more accessories to that circuit then a relay might be a good thought.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 08:10 PM   #5
russcc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,382
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

NOS and NORS parts for these simple switches are usually available from Fred SSO, Faribualt MN, Nelson Pease, Palmer MA or Ray Helgers, Little Compton RI, among others. You may be wise to avoid new imposter stuff.
russcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 08:27 PM   #6
RalphM
Senior Member
 
RalphM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 2,533
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

Wired my 36 switch, using 47 wiring schematic to get rid of column bottom switch, in 12 volt with no issues.
RalphM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 08:58 PM   #7
Ken/Alabama
Senior Member
 
Ken/Alabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,350
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

I have one on my 40 convertible. The flip switch on the column powers a relay that feeds a fuse panel for the ignition,fuel pump & all the accessories like radio and heater.
Ken/Alabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 10:43 PM   #8
quickchange34
Senior Member
 
quickchange34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: charlottesville, Va.
Posts: 569
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

Yes , use a relay with the switch if you plan to rewire and add accessories .
quickchange34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 10:51 AM   #9
FireEngineMike
Senior Member
 
FireEngineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Webster, NY
Posts: 209
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

Hyvolt, would you post a picture of your wiring panel.
FireEngineMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 11:04 AM   #10
Don W/Norfolk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 118
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

I would suggest the relay be one of the "continuous use" variety such as those used in golf carts. Google continuous use high amp relay. http://www.texasindustrialelectric.com/relays.asp is a good source with lots to chose from. dw
__________________
I love this country; it's the damn government I'm afraid of.
Don W/Norfolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 11:40 AM   #11
flatheadmurre
Senior Member
 
flatheadmurre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,045
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

That was some real big relays...A normal car relay with dual points usually take 30amp splitting up into a couple of relays and fuses may be a better option since you can get a replacement relay in your local NAPA store...just my thinking.
flatheadmurre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 11:43 AM   #12
40cpe
Senior Member
 
40cpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Star, MS
Posts: 3,591
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

Quote:
Originally Posted by FireEngineMike View Post
Hyvolt, would you post a picture of your wiring panel.
While Hyvolt is getting back to post, here is a picture of the one in my '38.

The section on the right is switched hot, while the left side is constant hot. The relay is mounted on the upper right, but is dark and hard to see. The panel is mounted high on the firewall under the dash and is hard to photograph. The relay and constant hot side is fed through the large yellow wires from the "BAT" post of the ignition switch. All I have connected to the constant hot is the interior light.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg '38fusepanel.jpg (28.3 KB, 75 views)
40cpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 12:10 PM   #13
Hyvolt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Warrenton Mo
Posts: 29
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

This is a pic of my panel build before it was done. I can get you more picsand all the details if interested, but it's not the only way to do it. I used a panel from a 2000 Windstar. Contains 28 circuits and 6 relays. I work for the electric utility locally and live in a world of complicated wiring so it may not be everyone's cup of tea. Total size is less than 12 square, and I mounted it in the same location as the original.

Sent from my LG-LS993 using Tapatalk
Hyvolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 12:18 PM   #14
Hyvolt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Warrenton Mo
Posts: 29
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

To add from my last post, my original coloumn switch activates relays in the panel, which energize a bank of fuses in the box. From those fuses I run a wire to the terminal strip. The terminal strip is where I land the wire to what ever I want to power off of that fuse.

I also have a self canceling turn signal switch that is done and functional. Have not made diagram or wiring print that is legible for anyone else yet, otherwise I'd share it

Sent from my LG-LS993 using Tapatalk
Hyvolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 12:22 PM   #15
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 14,814
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

A 6v relay for a VW is a good reference. I can post the information if anyone needs it. One thing to be aware of is some relays contain a diode. If they are used with a positive ground system you have to match current flow (polarity).
JSeery is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 02:07 PM   #16
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 6,600
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

"HyVolt" - Very impressive. More than I would need, but excellent work.
tubman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 02:40 PM   #17
Hyvolt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Warrenton Mo
Posts: 29
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

I tend to get a little OCD on the wiring sometimes. Another option that I use are "Blue Sea Systems" fuse panels. Marine grade and lots of options. Prices are good also. And relays that are reliable with good prices pictured below. It doesn't cost much more to buy TE or Bosch brands. Stay away from the cheap stuff.

I also use DigiKey to buy my electric parts. Great prices and massive selection

The large relay is good for 75 amps. Small for 20/30

Sent from my LG-LS993 using Tapatalk
Hyvolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 02:43 PM   #18
Hyvolt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Warrenton Mo
Posts: 29
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

75 amps relay better pic

Sent from my LG-LS993 using Tapatalk
Hyvolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 02:47 PM   #19
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 6,600
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

I'm a fan of "Digi-Key" as well. Being in north-central Minnesota in the summer, I get most of my components the next day, even with their "Economy Shipping".
tubman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 06:21 PM   #20
Flathead Fever
Senior Member
 
Flathead Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 599
Default Re: Ignition switch relay

This is what I use. Standard LR-32 relay. They are not cheap $30.00 to $40.00.

We had fleet vehicles that were melting the electrical plugs on the back of the factory headlight switches. Too much current was going through the switch because of all the additional lights the body builder installed. We modified the circuit so the current went through this relay instead of the switch. Its nice they have that built in fuse.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg relay.jpg (8.9 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg relay 1.jpg (28.0 KB, 28 views)

Last edited by Flathead Fever; 12-27-2018 at 06:34 PM.
Flathead Fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.