Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-01-2017, 11:53 PM   #1
daveymc29

Default Installing a thermostat in upper radiator hose

I did a search and found information on coolng problems but not installing a thermostat. I know I have seen stuff on that so I must be asking the question wrong. I have a temperature gauge that seldom gets of above 120 degrees. I have checked the block with an lazer beam Infared testers and my engine is at its hottest about 140 to 150 degrees between cylinders 3 & 4. I have a 180 degree thermostat that I soldered onto a short tube I made to just fit inside the upper hose. Tested it on the stove top and it works as supposed to. I believe that I should make a couple of holes to allow the radiator water to flow up through the hose when I start the engine or it may well overheat before the thermostat gets hot enough to open. Is this correct and if so how many and how large should the holes be? I'm running distilled water at the moment and thinking of changing to an antifreeze coolant. Suggestions there also?
Thanks in advance.
daveymc29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 12:16 AM   #2
Tom Wesenberg

Default Re: Installing a thermostat in upper radiator hose

I drilled two 1/8" holes in mine, and I lock it in place as close to the engine as possible by inserting the barbed part of a 2" diameter plastic fitting that I cut off. 2" OD that is.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 12:29 AM   #3
daveymc29