Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-29-2018, 01:28 PM   #1
30 Closed Cab PU

Default New, Introduction, my story

Am new to the Ford Barn, 1930 Closed Cab Pickup that has been in the family since around 1960. Originally born/raised in Belvidere Illinois, ended up in Watertown Wi since 1978. Inherited the A in 2012 when my father passed away. My father born and raised in Minnesota and South Dakota with 5 brothers/sisters on different rental farms, they moved a lot, 10 different places as far as I have been able to find out. He and his brothers ended up in Belvidere since there were a lot of jobs in the Belvidere/Rockford area after WW2. He was a machine tool wirer for Sundstrand's. When I was a freshman in high school we moved from town into the country on a 15 acre farmette, while working full time in town dad raised 20-30 head beef cattle, chickens, a few pigs, corn, and hay. When he was in his late 50s started collecting Massey tractors from the 1950s and before. Most of them he would get running, but not restore. When he was in his late 70s had an auction and sold 50 tractors, after he passed away we had another auction to sell the rest (what he considered his good tractors) and his tools/etc. - another 25 tractors. He was always working on things to resell to make extra cash, and bought the Mod A around 1960, he got it running, repainted it, and used it back and forth 2 miles to work for a couple of summers. Then it sat in different garages/outbuildings. With the help of the Rockford Model As club, we got it out and started it on a Saturday morning in spring of 2011. My hopes were to take him to a family reunion in it, but it needed too much. Overheated/boiled over within a 2-3 miles, when oil was drained it was the nastiest brown color, did not look like oil. Sadly Dad passed away in January of 2012. So hauled it to Watertown, and have been driving it some, having it