Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2010, 05:05 PM   #1
oldredford
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Posts: 388
Default gas

With ethanol now everwhere how long can you keep it in the tank before it fouls?
oldredford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 05:24 PM   #2
Frank The Plumber
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 693
Default Re: gas

put a little stabil with it and it will winter, more than that and i dont know
Frank The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-13-2010, 06:05 PM   #3
MikeK
Senior Member
 
MikeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Windy City
Posts: 2,817
Default Re: gas

In the Chicago area it may come pre-fouled from the pump! Weather changes, ground water, and lousy tanks are common. I have a friend with a 'vette and he always carries empty clear glass pint jars, saved from sauce, pickles, etc. When he pulls into a station he fills up 1/2 a jar. If it isn't crystal clear, he pays the 25 cents with his credit card, leaves the jar by the pump, and adds the station to his foul list. One $2,000 non-warranty repair from the dealer made him into a jar collector. If a station has pumps with three grades of gas but one hose, not three, he takes a pass. No way to tell what you are getting in the first 1/2 gallon, other than financially SCREWED. He also adds some $20 a 1/2 pint snake oil the Chevy dealer 'vette specialist pushes for fill-ups with E10. Bend over!
__________________
Mechanical engineering 101: If you put an adjustment knob, screw, bolt, or tolerance specs on something, some people will immediately fiddle with it. If you mark it DO NOT TOUCH everyone will mess with it.
MikeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 06:27 PM   #4
Jim Parker Toronto
Senior Member
 
Jim Parker Toronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: gas

Good thought! Those Corvette guys are pretty smart. I use Shell with 91 octane, which advertises no ethanol, but never thought of that three grades out of one pump hose! Although they give you a choice. You can use the multi-grade pump, or a dedicated one. Thanks, more things to think of....
Jim Parker Toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:00 PM   #5
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,415
Default Re: gas

I agree, that 3 hoses business is something that never crossed my mind. Of course it wouldn't matter much with my modern car as I always get the regular with E10 crap in it.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:11 PM   #6
Mitch//pa
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 11,454
Default Re: gas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Parker Toronto View Post
Good thought! Those Corvette guys are pretty smart. I use Shell with 91 octane, which advertises no ethanol, but never thought of that three grades out of one pump hose! Although they give you a choice. You can use the multi-grade pump, or a dedicated one. Thanks, more things to think of....
i usually just pump about 1/2 gallon into the trash can before i put it in my car if its a one hose pump.
Mitch//pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 10:58 PM   #7
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 13,983
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: gas

Unless the hoses have changed, I've never seen 1/2 gallon in the hose. As a kid we used to push the car from pump to pump station to station and never got more than a gallon in the tank after two dozen hoses.
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 11:31 PM   #8
MikeK
Senior Member
 
MikeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Windy City
Posts: 2,817
Default Re: gas

Mike, the pumps have changed since the old side arm jobs that dribbled a few ounces after shutoff. In the modern one hose pumps the fuel selection is switched with servo valves at ground level, then through the mechanical pump, up an 8' pipe to an overhead coupling, then down 10' of hose to the nozzle.

The "flush" to change grades in a modern Tokheim or Wayne pump is about 2 1/2 lbs of fuel according to the 'vette nut I know. That's about a quart and a half. If you have a motorcycle that takes only a gallon or so and you need premium, you really get screwed if the last guy bought the cheap stuff.

Stations like the one hose jobs because the vapor recovery control hoses used in Chicago and some other big cities cost $120+ each to replace. Nozzle rebuilds are expensive, too. If you have four pumps, four hoses and nozzles are way cheaper to maintain than twelve! The don't have to wear out, they have a mandatory replacement service life date on them.
__________________
Mechanical engineering 101: If you put an adjustment knob, screw, bolt, or tolerance specs on something, some people will immediately fiddle with it. If you mark it DO NOT TOUCH everyone will mess with it.
MikeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 12:56 AM   #9
Geo. H
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 374
Default Re: gas

Have you ever wondered what gas/stations/cost/etc. would be if the government would get the hell out of it?
Geo. H is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.