Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2010, 11:05 AM   #1
Richard/Ca
Senior Member
 
Richard/Ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manteca,Ca,
Posts: 368
Default Broken stud

Surprise ! Surprise ! I broke a head stud on my engine block. Now I have already drilled it out and retreaded it. My problem is apparently I not not drill deep enough because when I screw the new stud in it stops three threads short. Any ideas? Maybe cut three threads off the bottom of the stud???. Really don't want to mess up the new threads.
Richard/Ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 11:07 AM   #2
Mitch//pa
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 11,454
Default Re: Broken stud

did you helicoil it?
Mitch//pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-13-2010, 11:12 AM   #3
allen
Senior Member
 
allen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: petal mississippi
Posts: 550
Send a message via ICQ to allen
Default Re: Broken stud

never use heli coil, please look into time serts far far away better, I do not understand the three threads, Does the stud stand up taller than the rest if so and you have tapped, yes i would feel ok about removeing just three, I think this would leave you over 3/4 of the stud in hole, al
allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 11:20 AM   #4
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,423
Default Re: Broken stud

Did you use a BOTTOMING TAP? This is what you need to get the threads down to the bottom on a closed hole. And, be sure to blow the hole clean.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 11:52 AM   #5
George Miller
Senior Member
 
George Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 2,951
Default Re: Broken stud

21/32 of the stud should be in the block, for a 7/16 stud. Not sure how far Ford had them
George Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 11:55 AM   #6
Tom from Drippin'
Senior Member
 
Tom from Drippin''s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dripping Springs, Texas
Posts: 286
Default Re: Broken stud

Are you, per chance, using the stud intended for the ignition cable clamp (stud #8)? It is longer.
Tom from Drippin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 12:11 PM   #7
Doug Cox
Member
 
Doug Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 88
Default Re: Broken stud

M,M,M, My first question would be what is the overall length of the new stud in comparison to the others? The number of threads on the stud can vary from one supplier to the next. The real concern is how far does the new stud rise above the head in comparison to the rest? If it is just a few threads too high then Tomís remark about using a bottoming tap is right on the mark.
Doug Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 03:50 PM   #8
Jim Parker Toronto
Senior Member
 
Jim Parker Toronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Broken stud

I seem to remember a while ago that some people on here or the old Fordbarn, said that you should never use a tap to clean the threads in the block. It did something to the threads??? (weakened them) I don't know, I didn't understand it then, and I don't now...
Jim Parker Toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 04:00 PM   #9
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,423
Default Re: Broken stud

Right, a tap can enlarge the threads, but in this case a broken stud was drilled and tapped. I would try the welded washer and nut process to remove the broken stud first. If that didn't work, I'd carefully drill the exact center of the broken stud with a 1/8" drill bit and keep increasing the size until the edge of the ole just got to the threads. Then I'd use a dental pick to carefully peel away the remaining thread.

Use an old bolt with 4 slots cut in it to clean threads.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 09:30 PM   #10
Jim Parker Toronto
Senior Member
 
Jim Parker Toronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Broken stud

But what if the tap goes in easily and does not appear to be cutting steel, but just cleaning the threads. Is it OK to use it then?
Jim Parker Toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 09:33 PM   #11
allen
Senior Member
 
allen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: petal mississippi
Posts: 550
Send a message via ICQ to allen
Default Re: Broken stud

I think what he is saying is he did not drill deep enough so when he tapped he ran out of hole, Now he will have to drill and keep away from threads which will be tough road to haul, This is why i said cut to fit might work for him,

I would like to respectfully disagree with tapping is a bad thing, After 80 years of debris in the holes I would think there would be no way you could torque to 55 pounds with crud in the holes, I tap and die every bolt every hole that would require torque, As always the knowledge on the board as my respect
allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 10:54 PM   #12
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 13,983
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Broken stud

Ford used taps that were way more percise then generally available today.

There are 3 classes of fit, 1 for loose tolerance. 2 for general purpose. 3 for tight tolerance.
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II

Last edited by Mike V. Florida; 05-13-2010 at 11:12 PM.
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:35 AM   #13
Richard/Ca
Senior Member
 
Richard/Ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manteca,Ca,
Posts: 368
Default Re: Broken stud

Thank You all for some very interesting answer. No I did not used an heli coil I drilled the hole out with different size bits until I finished with a 3/8 bit. Then I could run a 7/16-14NC tap to clean the threads. But apparently I did not drill deep enough to thread the full 21/32 which is how deep the hole should be at least. As stated in George Miller's post. I did use a bottom tap. I went back out to my shop and was thinking of try my Drimrel tool with a small grinding bit.Working very carefully I managed to get about two more threads deeper.Now I think I had better leave will enough alone. Once again Thanks Richard
Richard/Ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 07:42 AM   #14
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,423
Default Re: Broken stud

When I drill a broken head stud I start with a 1/8" bit and drill until I feel the bit go through the bottom end of the stud and hit the casting of the block. I never measured but I'd guess the bit drops about an 1/8" to 1/4" after it leaves the bottom of the stud.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 12:12 PM   #15
Richard/Ca
Senior Member
 
Richard/Ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manteca,Ca,
Posts: 368
Default Re: Broken stud

Thanks Tom I'll will sure remember that the next time. And here I thought I was doing such a great job !
Richard/Ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.