Go Back   The Ford Barn > The Archives > Model-A

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-01-1970, 12:00 AM   #1

Default Driving the Model A

Not only am I a newbie at Model A restoration, but now I am a newbie at driving a Model A.

My restoration project is to the point where I can drive the Model A, and enjoy the rewards.

I have prepared for this event by reading "how to" start and drive the Model A. Obviously, there is no better way to learn than to get in and "get her done". I do not have any problems starting, however, when driving, the fuel mixture appears to be too rich and I get alot of "popping" explosions from the muffler. I believe it is caused by not having the correct combination of choke setting and retard/advance setting. I would also assume that every Model A car(engine)is different - i.e., what works in one may not work in another.

I just want to make sure something else is not causing the "popping", and that I will just need to experiment to get the right combination of choke setting and retard/advance setting.

Thanks for helping.

<table><tr><td><font face="arial">

Old 01-01-1970, 12:00 AM   #2

Default Re: Driving the Model A

<center></center>

Welcome Bob!!!

You are correct with the statement that each car is a little different.

Here is a procedure from www.model-a.org

1) Engage emergency brake by pulling back on it.

2) Push lever left of steering wheel (Spark Control) all the way up (Retard)

3) Pull lever right of the steering (Hand Throttle) half way down

4) Turn Gas Valve under dash on passenger side to open (Pointing down)

5) Turn Choke Control Valve (under right side of dash) full clockwise and back off 1/4 turn. If it's quite cold out, it may be better to open a full turn.

6) Turn Ignition Switch on (Clockwise)

7) Push in clutch and put Transmission in Neutral

8) Pull Choke Control Out

9) Turn engine over 3 Revolutions – Choke in on 3rd Revolution