Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2019, 09:50 PM   #1
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 508
Default Brake light switch for 55 ford

my brake light switch on my 55 sedan is not sensitive enough to go on when gently applying the brakes. The brake lights come on if I come to a hard stop.

Can they be adjusted in any way ?
Also, is the switch under the dash ?
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 10:09 PM   #2
miker98038
Senior Member
 
miker98038's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kent, WA. Tucson, AZ
Posts: 672
Default Re: Brake light switch for 55 ford

It’s on the brake lines and hydraulic from line pressure. I know some use the switch off a Harley as it activates at low pressure. I can’t tell you which one. I put a mechanical under the dash, made a bracket to work off the brake arm.
miker98038 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-09-2019, 10:10 PM   #3
51504bat
Senior Member
 
51504bat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SoCal-Redlands
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: Brake light switch for 55 ford

Same problem with the one in my '39 pick up. Switch is hydraulic, mine is behind the m/c. I've heard a switch from a Harley m/c solves the problem. Simple bolt in replacement. Or you can adapt a mechanical switch. I believe mid 50's p/u's used them. Other threads on the HAMB and I think the flathead section here on the barn.
__________________
Making the simple complicated for over 30 years.
51504bat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 01:01 AM   #4
KULTULZ
Senior Member
 
KULTULZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere Between Lost and Found
Posts: 2,014
Post Re: Brake light switch for 55 ford

Quote:
This little switch is the answer to any vehicle that has an old out of date low pressure brake light switch. This new switch made by CPP activates your brake lights on at 45psi, not 95psi like the originals, allowing for a faster signal to your taillights and allowing a lot more time for the car behind you to react. While the original switch was rated for drum brakes, the new switch was made with disc brakes in mind! Everyone who looks at this auction needs to hit the buy it now as this is a must have item! Remember, everything wears out eventually, so update that old crusty outdated switch to a new upgraded unit. You won't believe the difference.


SOURCE - https://www.ebay.com/itm/CHEVY-FORD-...-/280876618864
__________________


My Colonoscopy Results Just Came Back. Perfect Score.

Wife Always Calls Me An A$$-Hole And I Just Wanted To Be Perfect For Her.

KULTULZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 12:33 PM   #5
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 6,941
Default Re: Brake light switch for 55 ford

Read all this.
https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showt...e+light+switch
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 03:02 PM   #6
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 508
Default Re: Brake light switch for 55 ford

I am going to change my brake light switch on my 55 sedan with a low pressure one I bought on Ebay.
When I remove the old switch which is screwed into a brass junction block on the back of the master cylinder will the old switch removal require I bleed the brakes after replacement with a new switch ?
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 07:58 PM   #7
paul2748
Senior Member
 
paul2748's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midland Park, NJ
Posts: 2,421
Default Re: Brake light switch for 55 ford

No - you don't have to bleed the brakes. Done this a number of times w/o bleeding and never had a problem. Have the new switch in your hand near the old switch as you remove it.
I made up a bracket attached to the pedal support and installed a mechanical switch. Instant brake lights just touching the pedal. I have sort of a how to if your interested. Similar to the one sold by the TBird suppliers.



Quote:
Originally Posted by zoegrant View Post
I am going to change my brake light switch on my 55 sedan with a low pressure one I bought on Ebay.
When I remove the old switch which is screwed into a brass junction block on the back of the master cylinder will the old switch removal require I bleed the brakes after replacement with a new switch ?
__________________
48 Ford Conv
56 Tbird
54 Ford Victoria
paul2748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 12:19 PM   #8
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 508
Default Re: Brake light switch for 55 ford

Thanks for the info on whether I need to bleed the brakes. If the new switch I have on order is not sensitive enough I would appreciate a how to on the pedal actuated switch.....I had one from a T-bird vendor on my 56 bird and loved it...thanks
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 11:04 PM   #9
Daves55Sedan
Senior Member
 
Daves55Sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Granite City, Illinois
Posts: 1,649
Default Re: Brake light switch for 55 ford

The OEM replacement switches are not DOT 5 silicone brake fluid compatible. But the repro parts suppliers sell a "low-pressure" brake light switch that is silicone brake fluid compatible. I put one of those on my '55 Sedan many years ago. My '55 Courier has a Harley brake light switch. Either one is proper pipe thread for factory brake fitting at the nose of your master cylinder.
Either way you go, you will need to snip off the factory bullet connectors at the end of your wires and use the pigtail set that comes with the new switch.
Daves55Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 11:13 AM   #10
bobss396
Senior Member
 
bobss396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 526
Default Re: Brake light switch for 55 ford

This is the one I use, I save it in my eBay favorites in case I need another one. Definitely low pressure. And I changed it and didn't bleed the brakes.


https://www.ebay.com/itm/Chevy-Ford-...53.m1438.l9372
bobss396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 11:15 AM   #11
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 508
Default Re: Brake light switch for 55 ford

Hi Bob...that looks like the one I just ordered on Ebay….Thanks for the picture.
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 11:20 AM   #12
bobss396
Senior Member
 
bobss396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 526
Default Re: Brake light switch for 55 ford

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoegrant View Post
Hi Bob...that looks like the one I just ordered on Ebay….Thanks for the picture.

Glad to help. It trips at 45 PSI. I got one with a CPPP proportioning valve that leaked immediately. Grabbed one at NAPA that took high pressure to trip. I'm happy with the one I got, should pick up another one just in case.
bobss396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 01:49 PM   #13
51504bat
Senior Member
 
51504bat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SoCal-Redlands
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: Brake light switch for 55 ford

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobss396 View Post
This is the one I use, I save it in my eBay favorites in case I need another one. Definitely low pressure. And I changed it and didn't bleed the brakes.


https://www.ebay.com/itm/Chevy-Ford-...53.m1438.l9372
Check out the link. Seller is Gearhead Enterprises. Lots of bad reviews/comments over on the HAMB and other places. Caveat Emptor.
__________________
Making the simple complicated for over 30 years.
51504bat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.