Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 09-15-2010, 09:56 AM   #1
Gary-UK

Default AOD in to a 57

Hello...

I have a 57 Ranchero project that I am just getting started on, the original engine and trans has gone and I have a carb'd 302 small block for it. I fancy running an AODE trans but reckon I will have to modify the trans tunnel to clear it. Anyone done this who can confirm if this is the case?
Gary-UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 11:30 AM   #2
ford1

Default Re: AOD in to a 57

get an aod out of a 1989 and down car, those are all hydralicly, controled, no wiring needed
ford1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 11:31 AM   #3
JeffB2

It shouldn't require any mods,I have a 302 & AOD in a '54 which is smaller than your '57 there is plenty of room, use an Energy suspension trans mount part#4-1104G $21.95 at Summit.If you are running a Carb get the Lokar TV cable and bracket it makes it super EZ to hook up.Try to get a 1987-92 AOD which is non-computer the AODE is computer control for lots of info on AOD's check out www.clickclickracing.com.
JeffB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 08:38 PM   #4
steve fritz

JeffB2......I am planning the same ford swap into a 51 Ford ragtop. Should I also get this Energy mount at Summit for my 51? Or does Summit have a different application number for the 51 chassis, probably a little different frame , cross member than the 57? What is your thoughts on 302 vrs 351??? I am not interested in racing application, just want a nice cruiser.
On a different subject, does aybody carry a complete wiring harness upgrade for this 51 ? I want to ditch the original 6 volt and convert everything to 12 Volt on the 51.